2017 Wilson Cup

Sydney Bears retain Wilson Cup

The Sydney Bears have retained the Wilson Cup following their 5-3 defeat of the Sydney Ice Dogs on 4 August. The Wilson Cup is usually awarded to the winner of a pre-season tournament held between the three New South Wales based AIHL clubs. This year however the normal pre-season tournament was cancelled due to the number of players competing overseas and the relocation of the Bears and Ice Dogs to the Macquarie Ice Rink. As a result the Wilson Cup was re-purposed to be awarded to the winner of the four game regular season series between the Bears and Ice Dogs, leaving out the Northstars.

The series finished with two wins for each team and both with an equal goal difference of zero. The Wilson Cup was therefor retained by the Bears, having won the 2016 cup.

– Sydney Ice Dogs 1-0 Sydney Bears (22 April 2017)
– Sydney Bears 0-3 Sydney Ice Dogs (10 June 2017)
– Sydney Ice Dogs 2-4 Sydney Bears (15 July 2017)
– Sydney Bears 5-3 Sydney Ice Dogs (4 August 2017)

Wilson Cup unlikely for 2017

The Sydney Bears have announced that it unlikely that the Wilson Cup tournament will be held in 2017 citing a high workload in relation to their move to the Macquarie Ice Rink. The Wilson Cup was founded in 2007 as a pre-season tournament for the New South Wales based AIHL clubs. The tournament has been held on six occasions, from 2007 to 2009 and 2014 to 2016. The Bears won the 2016 edition, defeating the Sydney Ice Dogs 3-1 in the final.