Brendan McDowell

Victorian All-Stars roster announced

The roster for the Victorian All-Stars has been announced ahead of the two game series against the Australian men’s team. The two game series will be held on 15 and 16 February 2020 at the O’Brien Icehouse as part of the Icehouse’s 10th anniversary celebrations.

Further information:
Ticket details

#6 Nathan Cachia (Melbourne Ice)
#9 Jaxson Lane (Melbourne Mustangs)
#21 Joey Hughes (CBR Brave)
#23 Jamie Bourke (Melbourne Mustangs)
#24 Mitch Humphries (Melbourne Mustangs)
#26 Tristan Darling (Melbourne Mustangs)
#29 Brendan McDowell (Melbourne Mustangs)
#49 Matt Anderson (Melbourne Mustangs)
#51 Sean Jones (Melbourne Mustangs)
#75 Tom Lash (Melbourne Ice)
#76 Jack McCoy (Melbourne Mustangs)
#77 Paul Lazzarotto (Melbourne Ice)
#88 Bradley Apps (Melbourne Mustangs)
#89 Pat O’Kane (Melbourne Mustangs)
#90 Rob Clark (Melbourne Ice)

Hockey X 2019

The Melbourne Mustangs have won Hockey X 2019’s Warrior Cup, defeating the Melbourne Ice 3-1. Hockey X 2019 was an invitational tournament hosted by the Melbourne Ice at the O’Brien Icehouse. The tournament was first held in 2018 under the name of Hockey Festival: Melbourne and features eight short form games over two days. The CBR Brave, Melbourne Ice and Melbourne Mustangs all returned for the second year in a row. The Queensland All-Stars make their first appearance at the tournament while the Adelaide Adrenaline didn’t receive an invite after appearing in 2018.

Brendan McDowell of the Melbourne Mustangs was named best player of the tournament and Logan Gallacher, also from the Mustangs, was named best junior player.

Further information:
Hockey X website

– Melbourne Ice 2-4 Melbourne Mustangs (13:15, 30 March 2019)
– Queensland All-Stars 1-2 Melbourne Ice (14:15, 30 March 2019)
– Queensland All-Stars 2-3 SO CBR Brave (15:15, 30 March 2019)
– Melbourne Mustangs 4-1 CBR Brave (18:00, 30 March)
– Melbourne Mustangs 8-0 Queensland All-Stars (19:00, 30 March 2019)
– Melbourne Ice 6-0 CBR Brave (20:00, 30 March 2019)

– Third place game: CBR Brave 3-0 Queensland All-Stars (13:00, 31 March 2019)
– Grand final: Melbourne Mustangs 3-1 Melbourne Ice (14:30, 31 March 2019)

Round-robin standings

Melbourne Mustangs 3 3 0 0 9
Melbourne Ice 3 2 0 1 6
CBR Brave 3 0 1 2 2
Queensland All-Stars 3 0 1 2 1

Last updated 31 March 2019

AIHL news: 15 April 2017

Adelaide Adrenaline
– The Adrenaline have defeated the Ice Hockey South Australia All Star team 9-1 in their exhibition match at the Adelaide Ice Arena. The match was held as part of the Hockey Day in Adelaide event which also featured a live stream of an NHL match, public skating with the Adrenaline and Adelaide Rush players and a Come ‘N’ Try Hockey session.

Melbourne Mustangs
Michael McMahon will take over the captaincy for the 2017 season. MacMahon replaces Patrick O’Kane who held the position in the 2016 season. Jamie Bourke will return as one of the clubs alternate captains. Brendan McDowell and Patrick O’Kane will serve as the teams other alternate captains replacing Sean Jones.

2016 Melbourne Mustangs Awards Night

The awards continue to be handed out with the Melbourne Mustangs holding their awards night on 10 September.

– Most Valuable Player: Michael McMahon
– Most Valuable Australian Player: Sean Jones
– Highest Points Scorer: Jamie Bourke
– Best Defenceman: James Isaacs
– Rookie of the Year: Corey Stringer
– Most Improved: Luke Fisher
– Most Inspirational: Ryan Ruddle
– Coaches Award: Matt Stringer
– Players’ Choice Award: Brendan McDowell
– Fan Favourite: Jamie Bourke
– MOAT’s Head, Heart, Hockey Award: Michael McMahon
– Outstanding Service Award: Rick Dwyer
– Fan of the Year: Brett Parker

Australian Men’s Final Roster Released

The IIHF have released the final team roster for the Australian men’s national team for the 2014 IIHF World Championship Division II Group A tournament being held in Belgrade, Serbia. Eight players will be making their debut for the team; James Byers, Fraser Carson, Adam Geric, Mitchell Humphries, Brendan McDowell, Shannon McGregor, Austin McKenzie and Greg Sturrock. Former Adelaide Adrenaline and Under-20 head coach Ryan O’Handley takes over as head coach from Vladimir Rubes who was head coach from 2011 to 2013.

For more information see the IIHF website.

Team staff: