Damien Ketlo

2017 AIHL Awards

The AIHL have announced the winners of the 2017 awards. For more information on the awards, including the voting process and nominees, see the article on theAIHL.com.

– Most Valuable Player: Cameron Critchlow (Adelaide Adrenaline)
– Defenceman of the Year: Rob Haselhurst (Perth Thunder)
– Rookie of the Year: Bayley Kubara (CBR Brave)
– Goaltender of the Year: Damien Ketlo (Sydney Ice Dogs)
– Coach of the Year: Dave Ruck (Perth Thunder)

2017 AIHL All-Star Weekend: Skills Competition

The 2017 AIHL All-Star Weekend got underway today with the Skills Competition being held at the O’Brien Group Arena. The Melbourne Mustangs claimed three of the seven competitions with Jamie Bourke, Patrick O’Kane and Matt Beattie all claiming one each. The Melbourne Ice claimed two with Joseph Hughes picking up both, the Adelaide Adrenaline won one competition through Josef Rezek and the Sydney Ice Dogs picked up one with Damien Ketlo. The All-Star Weekend continues tomorrow with the All-Star Game.

For more information on the Weekend see the league website and for more on the skills competition see the article on theAIHL.com.

– Air Canada Fastest Skater: Patrick O’Kane (Melbourne Mustangs) – 11 seconds
– APA Group Breakaway Challenge: Joseph Hughes (Melbourne Ice)
– Shooting Accuracy: Jamie Bourke (Melbourne Mustangs) – 9.3 seconds
– Rifle Media Stickhandling: Joseph Hughes (Melbourne Ice)
– Skaters Network Hardest Shot: Matt Beattie (Melbourne Mustangs) – 146 km/h
– Ryzer Elimination Shootout: Josef Rezek (Adelaide Adrenaline)
– Goaltender Race: Damien Ketlo (Sydney Ice Dogs)

Last updated 6 June 2017

AIHL news: 11 April 2017

Adelaide Adrenaline
– The Adrenaline have announced the signing of Zachary Boyle for the 2017 season. Boyle spent the 2016 season playing for the CBR Brave where he recorded nine points in 29 games. Boyle previously played for the Adrenaline in the 2014 and 2015 seasons. For more information see the announcement from the club.

Perth Thunder
– The Thunder have announced a partnership with MyLeadPod, an automated business reward program.

Sydney Bears
– The Bears have signed American forward Jackson Brewer for the upcoming 2017 season. Brewer spent the 2016-17 season playing for the Roanoke Rail Yard Dawgs of the Southern Professional Hockey League (SPHL) where he recorded 41 points in 43 games. During the 2015-16 season Brewer spent time at three other SPHL clubs, the Knowville Ice Bears, Huntsville Havoc and Macon Mayhem, and was loaned out briefly out the Evansville IceMen of the ECHL. For more information see the announcement from the club.

Sydney Ice Dogs
– The Ice Dogs have announced the signing of Canadian goaltender Damien Ketlo for the upcoming season. Ketlo spent the 2016-17 playing in his fifth season for the University of Lethbridge of the U Sports system, recording a 0.881 save percentage in six games. Prior to joining the University of Lethbridge Ketlo had a brief stint with the Colorado Eagles of the ECHL in the 2011-12 season. For more information see the announcement from the club.