Richard Tesarik

Newcastle Northstars 2019 club awards

The Newcastle Northstars held their 2019 Club Awards yesterday. For more information see the article from the Newcastle Star’s Ellie-Marie Watts.

– Most Valuable Player: Sammy Banga
– Best Defensive Player Award: Dayne Davis
– Most Improved Player Award: Richard Tesarik
– Most Dedicated Player Award: Robert Malloy
– Tony Huntley Award for Best Australian Player: Charlie Smart
– Coaches’ Award: Josh Secomb

AIHL news: 20 March 2018

Melbourne Ice
– The Ice have announced the signing of Swedish forward Filip Petersson for the upcoming season. Petersson is currently the captain of Tranås AIF, a team in the Swedish Hockeyettan. During the 2017-18 season he has recorded 34 points in 41 games.

Melbourne Mustangs
– The Mustangs have signed Finnish goaltender Petri Pitkänen for the 2018 season. Pitkänen last played in the AIHL during 2014 for the CBR Brave where he completed the regular season with a 0.906 save percentage. During his time away from the AIHL Pitkänen has spent three seasons with KeuPa HT of the Mestis, the most recent being the 2016-17 season. For more information see the announcement from the club

Newcastle Northstars
– The Northstars have signed three Sydney Bears players for the 2018 season, forwards Tomas Landa and Richard Tesarik and defenceman Patrick Ward. Landa has played six seasons in the AIHL and has recorded 234 points in 134, all for the Sydney Bears. Tesarik will be playing in his seventh AIHL season, having previously played three seasons for both the Ice Dogs and Bears. He currently has 72 points from 111 games. Ward’s 2018 season will be his sixth having previously played two with the Ice Dogs and three for the Bears. He currently has 56 points from 131 games. For more information see the announcement from the club

Sydney Bears and Ice Dogs player announcements

Following tonights Wilson Cup opener both the Sydney Ice Dogs and the Sydney Bears have revealed some new player signings as well as a good majority of returning players for the Sydney Bears.

New signings for the Sydney Ice Dogs:

  • Kane Spence – from the ECSL’s Sting. Previously played for the Sydney Bears.
  • Strat Allen – Canadian centre who has previously played for Queens University.
  • Alec Stephenson – from the Sydney Bears. Previously played for the Ice Dogs in 2012 and 2013.
  • Bryan Costa – from the ECSL’s Reach Rebels and the AJIHL’s Sydney Sabres.
  • Ilman Lee – from the ECSL’s Blueline Bombers. Represented Australia at the 2015 IIHF World U20 Championships.
  • Jake Burgess – from the AJIHL’s Sydney Wolf Pack

New signings for the Sydney Bears:

  • Patrick Ward – from the Sydney Ice Dogs.
  • Luke Zvonicek – from the ECSL’s Blueline Bombers and the AJIHL’s Sydney Sabres.
  • Richard Tesarik – from the Sydney Ice Dogs.
  • Charles Frazer – from the ECSL’s Newcastle North Stars and the AJIHL’s Sydney Wolf Pack.
  • Lachlan Allport – from the ECSL’s Penrith Raptors and the AJIHL’s Sydney Sabres.
  • Thomas Cooney – American forward currently playing for Arizona State University. Recently drafted by the Blueline Bombers in the 2015 ECSL Draft
  • Kevin Engström – Swedish winger from Göta/Traneberg in the Swedish Division 2 league
  • Jonathan Bjurestam – Swedish winger who last played for Husum HK in the Swedish Division 2 league
  • Dale Burgess – from the Sydney Ice Dogs

Returning players for the Bears include Steven Adams, Michael Schlamp, Jan Bejcek, Paul Bond, Spencer Austin, Adrian Esposito, Lee Turner, Saxon Air and Luke Read