Rob Haselhurst

AIHL news: 18 January 2019

Perth Thunder
– The Thunder have announced the signing of defenceman Robert Haselhurst for the upcoming 2019 season. Haselhurst spent the 2018 season playing for the Newcastle Northstars and previously played got the Thunder from 2013 to 2017. He has recorded 68 points from 146 AIHL games since 2013.

2018 World Championships: Australia beat China

The Australian men’s national team have beat China 3-1 in their third game of the 2018 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship Division II Group A tournament. Defenceman Rob Haselhurst scored a goal and an assist and was named best Australian player of the game. In other games of the day Belgium defeated Iceland 6-3 and the Netherlands beat Serbia 5-0. Australia remains second in the standings while the Netherlands lead with the best goal difference. The teams have a rest day today and return on Saturday where Australia take on Serbia for their fourth game of the tournament. The last time these two teams met was at the 2017 World Championship Division II Group A tournament where Australia won 4-3 in overtime.

For more information on the tournament see the page at

– Australia 3-1 China (13:00, 26 April 2018, IJssportcentrum). Game Card


Netherlands 3 3 0 0 0 9
Australia 3 3 0 0 0 9
Serbia 3 2 0 0 1 6
Belgium 3 1 0 0 2 3
China 3 0 0 0 3 0
Iceland 3 0 0 0 3 0

AIHL news: 20 February 2018

Melbourne Mustangs
The Kodiak Group have joined the Mustangs as their new naming rights sponsor for the next two seasons. The Kodiak Group replaces The James Hotel who held the naming rights in 2017. For more information see the announcement from the club

Newcastle Northstars
– The Northstars have signed defenceman Rob Haselhurst for the upcoming 2018 season. Haselhurst has spent the last five seasons playing for the Perth Thunder where he has recorded 81 points in 120 games.

2017 AIHL Awards

The AIHL have announced the winners of the 2017 awards. For more information on the awards, including the voting process and nominees, see the article on

– Most Valuable Player: Cameron Critchlow (Adelaide Adrenaline)
– Defenceman of the Year: Rob Haselhurst (Perth Thunder)
– Rookie of the Year: Bayley Kubara (CBR Brave)
– Goaltender of the Year: Damien Ketlo (Sydney Ice Dogs)
– Coach of the Year: Dave Ruck (Perth Thunder)

Southern Suns claim 2016 UIHC title

The Southern Suns have won the 2016 Ultimate Ice Hockey Championship (UIHC) two games to one and claim their first tournament title. The Suns lost the opening game of the tournament continuing the Northern Stars unbeaten streak from 2015 where they won all three games and claimed the inaugural UIHC Cup. The Suns however bounced back winning Game 2 at the Perth Ice Arena before claiming the series in Game 3 at the Cockburn Ice Arena. The Suns defenceman Jamie Woodman was named the tournaments most valuable player.

For more information on the tournament see the website.

– Game 1: Northern Stars 4 – 2 Southern Suns (15 October 2016, Cockburn Ice Arena).
Game Recap. MVP: Jonathon Bremner
– Game 2: Northern Stars 2 – 3 Southern Suns (22 October 2016, Perth Ice Arena).
Game Recap. MVP: Rob Haselhurst
– Game 3: Northern Stars 2 – 6 Southern Suns (29 October 2016, Cockburn Ice Arena).
Game Recap. MVP: Andrew Cox