Sean Jones

AIHL news: 15 April 2017

Adelaide Adrenaline
– The Adrenaline have defeated the Ice Hockey South Australia All Star team 9-1 in their exhibition match at the Adelaide Ice Arena. The match was held as part of the Hockey Day in Adelaide event which also featured a live stream of an NHL match, public skating with the Adrenaline and Adelaide Rush players and a Come ‘N’ Try Hockey session.

Melbourne Mustangs
Michael McMahon will take over the captaincy for the 2017 season. MacMahon replaces Patrick O’Kane who held the position in the 2016 season. Jamie Bourke will return as one of the clubs alternate captains. Brendan McDowell and Patrick O’Kane will serve as the teams other alternate captains replacing Sean Jones.

2016 Melbourne Mustangs Awards Night

The awards continue to be handed out with the Melbourne Mustangs holding their awards night on 10 September.

– Most Valuable Player: Michael McMahon
– Most Valuable Australian Player: Sean Jones
– Highest Points Scorer: Jamie Bourke
– Best Defenceman: James Isaacs
– Rookie of the Year: Corey Stringer
– Most Improved: Luke Fisher
– Most Inspirational: Ryan Ruddle
– Coaches Award: Matt Stringer
– Players’ Choice Award: Brendan McDowell
– Fan Favourite: Jamie Bourke
– MOAT’s Head, Heart, Hockey Award: Michael McMahon
– Outstanding Service Award: Rick Dwyer
– Fan of the Year: Brett Parker

Australian inline team advance to the finals

The Australian national inline hockey team have defeated Great Britain 7-4 in their semifinal of the 2015 IIHF World Championship Division I tournament. The team now advances to the final where they will meet Croatia who defeated Argentina 7-0 in their semifinal. The Melbourne Mustangs Michael James was named best Australian player of the match and Sean Jones best player of the Australian team. Two other games were held yesterday to determine the final standings with Hungary defeating Austria 7-1 and Latvia beating Bulgaria 14-0. Australia and Croatia will meet today in the final of the tournament and have already met once in the preliminary round where Croatia beat Australia 9-4. It is also the second year in a row for Australia in the final. Last year the team took home the silver medal after being defeated by Slovenia 10-5 in the final.

Watch the tournament via the livesteam. (see the IIHF page for game times)

For more information see the IIHF website.

  • Great Britain 4 – 7 Australia (17:00, 10 July 2015, Hakametsa Rink 2). Game Card