Month: December 2019

AWIHL Team of the Decade has put together an article naming the best players from 2009 to 2019 to have competed in the AWIHL. The best players have been named in three teams; an All-Round Team of the Decade (best players regardless of nationality), Australian Team of the Decade (Australian nationals only) and Australian Second Star Team (Australian nationals not appearing in the first Australian team).

For more information see Choosing my AWIHL Team of the Decade by

Australian women’s roster for 2020 World Championships

Ice Hockey Australia have released the roster for the Australian women’s team for the upcoming 2020 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship Division II Group B tournament. The competition will take place from 23 February to 29 February in Akureyri, Iceland with Australia competing against Croatia, Iceland, New Zealand, Turkey and Ukraine.

Further information:
Tournament page on

Ashlie Aparicio (Melbourne Ice)
Natalie Ayris (Adelaide Rush)
Anna Badaoui (Sydney Sirens)
Michelle Clark-Crumpton (Perth Inferno)
Stephenie Cochrane (Sydney Sirens)
Natasha Farrier (Adelaide Rush)
Tina Girdler (G) (Sydney Sirens)
Sharna Godfrey (Sydney Sirens)
Jaimi Goonan (Brisbane Goannas)
Shona Green (Melbourne Ice)
Remi Harvey (Sydney Sirens)
Eiland Kenyon (Sydney Sirens)
Olivia Last (G) (RoKi)
Hollie McFadden (Sydney Sirens)
Georgia Moore (Melbourne Ice)
Rylie Padjen (Melbourne Ice)
Tess Reynolds (Adelaide Rush)
Dannielle Roberts (Brisbane Goannas)
Kate Tihema (Lindenwood-Belleville)

– Head coach: Stuart Philps
– Assistant coach: Paul Graham
– Team leader: Don Reddish
– Team manager: Alicia Kelly
– Equipment manager: Jaden Pine-Murphy
– Physiotherapist: Shannon Spencer

2020 AIHL schedule released

The Australian Ice Hockey League have released the schedule for the upcoming 2020 season. The regular season will start on 18 April and run through to 23 August followed by the playoffs weekend on 29 and 30 August at a location to be announced. The league also announced that the All-Star Game has been removed from the 2020 schedule following a request to allow more rest for the teams. A round of the 2020 season will also be dedicated to firefighters to help raise money for the Rural Fire Services and to the Red Cross.

Further information:
AIHL Facebook post
2020 season schedule

Australian men’s team to play Victorian All-Stars

The Australian men’s national team will play two exhibition games against the Victorian All-Stars at the O’Brien Icehouse on 15 and 16 February 2020. The games are being held as part of the Icehouse’s 10th anniversary celebrations.

Further information:
Post from the O’Brien Icehouse
Ticket details

Rosters released for 2020 Winter Youth Olympic Games

The International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) has released the rosters for the 2020 Winter Youth Olympic Games’ 3-on-3 ice hockey tournaments. In the men’s tournament Australia will be represented by Riley Langille in the blue team and Sai Lake in the brown team. In the women’s tournament Nikki Sharp has been named in the blue team, Courtney Mahoney in the black team, Molly Lukowiak in the orange team and Ebony Brunt in the grey team. The 2020 Winter Youth Olympic Games will be held in Lausanne, Switzerland from 9 January to 22 January.

Further information:
Team announcements on
Complete rosters on
2020 Winter Youth Olympic Games on
Offcial 2020 Winter Youth Olympic Games website

Australia to send six players to the 2020 Youth Olympic Games

APIHA signs memorandum of understanding with Paralympics Australia

The Australian Para Ice Hockey Association (APIHA) and Paralympics Australia have announced the signing of a memorandum of understanding with the aim of expanding the participant base in Australia. For more information see the announcement from Paralympics Australia.

Sydney Bears 2020 Executive Committee

The Sydney Bears have announced their executive committee for the 2020 season. The club however is yet to fill the position of club treasurer. For more information see the announcement from the club.

– President: Wayne Hellyer
– Vice president: Andrew Bourne
– Vice president: Matthew Burrell
– Vice president: Bianca Musico
– Secretary: Ruby Bray
– Treasurer: TBA

2019-20 AWIHL season: Round 8

Round 8 of the 2019-20 Australian Women’s Ice Hockey League season has finished both the Sydney Sirens and Melbourne Ice picking up a win from their double header. The Adelaide Rush remain on top of the standings, four points clear of the second placed Sirens. Following the results of the weekend the Ice become the third team to qualify for the 2020 AWIHL playoffs, joining the Rush and the Sirens. Competition resumes on 11 January with the Brisbane Goannas hosting the Sirens and the Ice travelling to Perth to take on the Inferno.

Further information:
AWIHL website, Facebook page, eSportsdesk statistics
YouTube livestream account

Results (all times local)
– Melbourne Ice 3–4 SO Sydney Sirens (20:15, 14 December 2019, Penrith Ice Palace)
– Melbourne Ice 7–5 Sydney Sirens (09:30, 15 December 2019, Liverpool Catholic Club Ice Rink)


Adelaide Rush 10 8 1 1 0 27
Sydney Sirens 10 6 2 1 1 23
Melbourne Ice 8 4 0 1 3 13
Brisbane Goannas 8 1 0 0 7 3
Perth Inferno 8 0 0 0 8 0

Last updated 15 December 2019

2019-20 AJIHL season: Round 4

Round 4 of the 2019-20 Australian Junior Ice Hockey League season has finished with wins for the Sydney Wolf Pack and Brisbane Blitz. With their wins the Wolf Pack increase their lead at the top of the standings, nine points clear of the second placed Blitz. Competition resumes on 1 February with the Sydney Sabres hosting the Perth Sharks in Liverpool.

Further information:
League esportsdesk website
AJIHL Facebook page

Results (all times local)
– Brisbane Blitz 2-1 Perth Sharks (08:00, 14 December 2019, Perth Ice Arena)
– Brisbane Blitz 5-4 SO Perth Sharks (16:45, 14 December 2019, Cockburn Ice Arena)
– Adelaide Generals 3-5 Sydney Wolf Pack (20:30, 14 December 2019, Liverpool Catholic Club Ice Rink)
– Brisbane Blitz 4-0 Perth Sharks (08:00, 15 December 2019, Perth Ice Arena)
– Adelaide Generals 1-4 Sydney Wolf Pack (10:00, 15 December 2019, Canterbury Olympic Ice Rink)
– Adelaide Generals 1-6 Sydney Wolf Pack (16:45, 15 December 2019, Liverpool Catholic Club Ice Rink)


Sydney Wolf Pack 7 6 0 1 0 19
Brisbane Blitz 6 2 2 0 2 10
Sydney Sabres 4 3 0 0 1 9
Perth Sharks 3 0 0 1 2 1
Adelaide Generals 3 0 0 0 3 0
Melbourne Glaciers 3 0 0 0 3 0

Last updated 15 December 2019