Sydney Ice Dogs

2020 AIHL schedule released

The Australian Ice Hockey League have released the schedule for the upcoming 2020 season. The regular season will start on 18 April and run through to 23 August followed by the playoffs weekend on 29 and 30 August at a location to be announced. The league also announced that the All-Star Game has been removed from the 2020 schedule following a request to allow more rest for the teams. A round of the 2020 season will also be dedicated to firefighters to help raise money for the Rural Fire Services and to the Red Cross.

Further information:
AIHL Facebook post
2020 season schedule

Dunwoodie announces his retirement

The Sydney Ice Dogs’ David Dunwoodie has announced that he will play his final AIHL game on 25 August against the Melbourne Mustangs at Macquarie Ice Rink. Dunwoodie has played in over 370 AIHL games from 2004 to 2019 with fourteen seasons at the Ice Dogs, two with the Central Coast Rhinos and one with the CBR Brave. For more information see the announcement from the club.

Ice Dogs to retire Anthony Wilson’s jersey

The Sydney Ice Dogs will retire former captain Anthony Wilson‘s jersey at their 23 August game against the Sydney Bears at Macquarie Ice Rink. Wilson played or the Ice Dogs from 2003 to 2013 and is currently the teams defensive coach. For more information see the announcement from the club.

Mustangs v Ice Dogs cancelled game rescheduled to 3 August

The Melbourne Mustangs and Sydney Ice Dogs game which was originally scheduled for 8 June at the Macquarie Ice Rink before being cancelled has been rescheduled to 3 August. The game had to be cancelled in June after the Mustangs flight was grounded at Melbourne Airport.

– Melbourne Mustangs – Sydney Ice Dogs (17:00, 3 August 2019, Macquarie Ice Rink)

Sydney Bears win the 2019 Wilson Cup

The Sydney Bears have won the 2019 Wilson Cup after winning the series against the Sydney Ice Dogs with a game to spare. The Wilson Cup is awarded to the winner of the four game regular season series between the Bears and Ice Dogs. Previously the Wilson Cup was contested for in a pre-season tournament between the New South Wales based clubs before it was re-purposed to its current form. The Bears last held the trophy in 2017 when the tied the series with the Ice Dogs to retain the Cup.

– Sydney Bears 8-3 Sydney Ice Dogs (20 April 2019)
– Sydney Ice Dogs 3-6 Sydney Bears (1 June 2019)
– Sydney Ice Dogs 4-6 Sydney Bears (6 July 2019)
– Sydney Bears Sydney Ice Dogs (23 August 2019)

Ice Dogs reveal Bombers jersey for the Matt Clark Shield

The Sydney Ice Dogs have revealed their Warringah Bombers themed jersey which they will in their 13 July game against the Adelaide Adrenaline. The special edition jersey is part of the teams Leukaemia Fundraising Night and is dedicated to former Bombers player Matt Clark who passed away due to Leukaemia in 1995. The two teams will also be competing for the Matt Clark Shield, an award that was originally contested from 1995 to 2001 at the Bombers’ Matt Clark Memorial Games. The jerseys are designed by Cheapskate Hockey and are expected to be auctioned of after the game.

For more information see the announcement from the club.

2019 Matt Clark Shield jersey

Ice Dogs sign Vasquez

The Sydney Ice Dogs have signed forward Jeremy Vasquez from the Sydney Bears. Vasquez played in 59 games for the Bears from 2016 to 2019, recording eight goals and eleven assists. He is the second player to depart the Bears for the Ice Dogs mid-season after Lachlan Fahmy switched clubs in May. The announcement was made by the Newcastle Northstars ahead of their 29 June game against the Ice Dogs.

Ice Dogs sign Fahmy

Following his release from the Sydney Bears on 6 May it has been announced that Lachlan Fahmy has signed with the Sydney Ice Dogs for the remainder of the season. Fahmy played in sixteen games for the Bears from 2016 to 2019, recording one assist and ten penalties in minutes. The announcement was made by Ice Dogs’ head coach Andrew Petrie on Episode 5 2019 of the AIHL Podcast.