2017 Melbourne Mustangs awards

The Melbourne Mustangs announced their club awards yesterday.

– Most Valuable Player: James Kruger
– Most Valuable Australian: Jamie Bourke
– Best Defenceman: Matt Beattie
– Players’ Player: James Kruger
– Highest Points Scorer: Jamie Bourke
– Most Improved: Andrew Belic
– Coaches Award: Vadim Virjassov
– Most Inspirational: Mitchell Humphries
– Rookie of the Year: Byron Tschuma
– Rick Dwyer Outstanding Service Award: Andrea Friscic
– Fan of the Year: Sarah Bricknall
– Fan Favourite: Jamie Bourke

2017 Adelaide Adrenaline awards

The Adelaide Adrenaline announced their club awards tonight. For more information see the thread on the clubs Facebook page.

– Most Valuable Player: Cameron Critchlow
– Highest Point Scorer: Cameron Critchlow
– Defenceman of the Year: Casey Babineau
– Rookie of the Year: Marcel McGuiness
– Unsung Hero Award: Jamie Holland
– Players Choice Award: Cameron Critchlow
– Local Player of the Year: David Huxley
– Fans Choice Award: Ales Kratoska
– Presidents Choice Award: Mike Biergard
– Volunteer of the Year: Cooper Davidson-Peacock

2017 AIHL Awards

The AIHL have announced the winners of the 2017 awards. For more information on the awards, including the voting process and nominees, see the article on

– Most Valuable Player: Cameron Critchlow (Adelaide Adrenaline)
– Defenceman of the Year: Rob Haselhurst (Perth Thunder)
– Rookie of the Year: Bayley Kubara (CBR Brave)
– Goaltender of the Year: Damien Ketlo (Sydney Ice Dogs)
– Coach of the Year: Dave Ruck (Perth Thunder)

Details released for 2018 AIHL All-Star Weekend

The Australian Ice Hockey League have announced the details for the 2018 AIHL All-Star Weekend. The two day event is set to be held on 2 and 3 June 2018 at the Adelaide Ice Arena with the skills competition on the 2nd followed by the all-stars game on the 3rd. APA Group will return for the fourth year in a row as the presenting sponsor. The two teams for 2017 will be captained by the Adelaide Adrenaline’s David Huxley and Josef Rezek, replacing Jamie Bourke of the Melbourne Mustangs and the Melbourne Ice’s Lliam Webster.

For more information on the event see

2017 AIHL playoffs

The 2017 AIHL playoffs have finished with the Melbourne Ice defeating the CBR Brave 4-1. The win gives the Ice their fourth Goodall Cup and their first since 2012. The Ice progressed to the final after defeating the Melbourne Mustangs 4-2 in the semifinals while the Brave defeated the Perth Thunder 6-2 in their semifinal. For the fifth year running the finals are sponsored by Air Canada.

The Melbourne Ice’s Sebastian Ottosson was named the finals most valuable player. Also announced was Skaters Network Local Player of the Year which was awarded to Joey Hughes of the Melbourne Ice.

For more information the AIHL website.

– SF1: Melbourne Mustangs 2–4 Melbourne Ice (15:00, 2 September 2017, O’Brien Group Arena)
– SF2: CBR Brave 6–2 Perth Thunder (18:00, 2 September 2017, O’Brien Group Arena)
– GF: CBR Brave 1–4 Melbourne Ice (15:00, 3 September 2017, O’Brien Group Arena)

Last updated 3 September 2017

2017 AIHL season: Round 18

The final round of the 2017 Australian Ice Hockey League season has finished with wins for the Perth Thunder, Melbourne Ice, Sydney Ice Dogs and Sydney Bears. The Ice finish the regular season in first place on 71 points, 14 ahead of the second placed Thunder. Next week are the Goodall Cup playoffs with the Ice taking on the Mustangs and the Thunder playing the Brave in the two semifinals.

For more information see the AIHL website.

Round 18 results:
– Adelaide Adrenaline 3-11 Perth Thunder (16:30, 26 August 2017, Perth Ice Arena)
– CBR Brave 2-5 Melbourne Ice (17:00, 26 August 2017, O’Brien Group Arena)
– Sydney Ice Dogs 3-2 Newcastle Northstars (17:00, 26 August 2017, Hunter Ice Skating Stadium)
– Melbourne Mustangs 5-6 Sydney Bears (17:00, 26 August 2017, Macquarie Ice Rink)
– CBR Brave 2-5 Melbourne Ice (16:00, 27 August 2017, O’Brien Group Arena)
– Adelaide Adrenaline 1-12 Perth Thunder (16:30, 27 August 2017, Perth Ice Arena)
– Melbourne Mustangs 2-4 Sydney Ice Dogs (17:00, 27 August 2017, Macquarie Ice Rink)

Standings at the end of Round 18:

Melbourne Ice 28 22 2 1 3 71
Perth Thunder 28 16 3 3 6 57
CBR Brave 28 13 3 1 11 46
Melbourne Mustangs 28 11 2 3 12 40
Sydney Ice Dogs 28 12 0 0 16 36
Sydney Bears 28 8 3 3 14 33
Newcastle Northstars 28 7 3 3 15 30
Adelaide Adrenaline 28 6 1 3 18 26

Last updated 27 August 2017