Perth Thunder

2018 AIHL awards: Part 1

The Australian Ice Hockey League announced the winners of three of the six awards for the 2018 season. The Perth Thunder took out all three categories with Pier-Olivier Grandmaison named most valuable player, Landon Oslanski named defenceman of the year and Jason McMahon named rookie of the year. The league will announce the winners of the remaining three categories tomorrow.

For details on how the voting process works see the release from the AIHL.

– Most Valuable Player: Pier-Olivier Grandmaison (Perth Thunder)
– Defenceman of the Year: Landon Oslanski (Perth Thunder)
– Rookie of the Year: Jason McMahon (Perth Thunder)

2018 AIHL season: Round 18

Round 18 of the 2018 Australian Ice Hockey League season has finished with wins for the Sydney Ice Dogs, Perth Thunder, Sydney Bears, CBR Brave and Melbourne Mustangs. The CBR Brave finish the regular season on top of the standings with a record 72 points, beating the previous record of 71 by the Melbourne Ice. Perth Thunder and the Melbourne Mustangs take the final two playoff spots joining the Brave and Bears. Next week the top four teams will compete in the 2018 Goodall Cup playoffs. The semifinals will see the Brave take on the Mustangs and the Bears play the Thunder.

The final round of the regular season also played host to a couple of events. The Perth Thunder held their Blue Jersey Day on 25 August to fundraise for Prostate Cancer Foundation of Australia. The blue jerseys were auction off as part of the fundraising. The Melbourne Ice held their Heritage Day game on 26 August. The game saw the Ice wearing a heritage themed jersey. The club also retired Vincent Hughes‘ #7 jersey as part of the celebrations.

For more information see the AIHL website.

Results (all times local)
– Sydney Bears 2-7 Sydney Ice Dogs (19:30, 24 August 2018, Macquarie Ice Rink)
– Newcastle Northstars 4-5 SO Perth Thunder (16:30, 25 August 2018, Perth Ice Arena)
– Melbourne Mustangs 1-5 Sydney Bears (17:00, 25 August 2018, Macquarie Ice Rink)
– CBR Brave 7-0 Melbourne Ice (17:00, 25 August 2018, O’Brien Group Arena)
– Newcastle Northstars 3-5 Perth Thunder (16:30, 26 August 2018, Perth Ice Arena)
– CBR Brave 6-2 Melbourne Ice (16:30, 26 August 2018, O’Brien Group Arena)
– Melbourne Mustangs 3-2 Sydney Ice Dogs (17:00, 26 August 2018, Macquarie Ice Rink)


CBR Brave 28 24 0 0 4 72
Sydney Bears 28 15 3 3 7 54
Perth Thunder 28 12 4 2 10 46
Melbourne Mustangs 28 12 2 2 12 42
Newcastle Northstars 28 9 4 4 11 39
Sydney Ice Dogs 28 10 3 2 12 38
Melbourne Ice 28 7 2 4 15 29
Adelaide Adrenaline 28 3 2 3 20 16

Last updated 26 August 2018

AIHL news: 12 July 2018

Perth Thunder
– The Thunder have signed Swiss forward Pascal Gemperli as a replacement for Landon Oslanski while he is away from the team. Gemperli spent the 2017-18 season playing for SC Weinfelden in the 1. Amateur Regio League and EHC Chur in the MySports League. He recorded 19 points in 18 games for SC Weinfelden and eight points in 13 games for EHC Chur.
– The club have also released an image of their #Get Checked jersey which they will wear on 25 August against the Newcastle Northstars. The #Get Checked game is being organised to help raise funds for the Prostate Cancer Foundation of Australia. For the picture of the jersey see announcement in the club newsletter.

AIHL news: 8 June 2018

Perth Thunder
– Former captain Samuel Wilson’s has retired from the AIHL having played from 2012 to 2017, captaining in all but his last season. Wilson did not start the 2018 season for the Thunder however his retirement has only just been confirmed by the club. Wilson played a total of 141 games and recorded 73 points. For more information see the announcement from the club

AIHL news: 12 May 2018

Adelaide Adrenaline
Josef Rezek has been named captain of the Adrenaline. Rezek replaces David Huxley who held the position during the 2017 season.

CBR Brave
– New sponsor: King Ape Supplements and King Ape’s Paradise Erindale. Supplements sponsor for the 2018 season.

Perth Thunder
– New sponsor: Coffey. Corporate partner for the 2018 season.

AIHL news: 18 April 2018

Adelaide Adrenaline
– New signing: Sebastian Andersson. Position: Goaltender. 2017-18: Hammarby IF (Hockeyettan) – 17 games, 0.907 save percentage. More information

CBR Brave
– New team staff: Johan Steenberg. Takes on the roles of Director of Player Development and Player Personnel. Formerly the goaltending coach of the Melbourne Ice (2014-2017). More information

Perth Thunder
– New signing: Pier-Olivier Grandmaison. Position: Forward. 2017-18: Corsaires de Nantes (FFHG Division 1) – 34 games, 48 points

Sydney Ice Dogs
– New signing: Bryan Kolodziejczyk. Position: Forward. 2017-18: Albatros de Brest (FFHG Division 1) – 40 games, 50 points. More information
– New sponsor: Holiday Inn Express Sydney Macquarie Park. New sponsor for the 2018 season. More information
– The Ice Dogs have partnered with Cheapskate Hockey to create a line of merchandise and a third jersey. The alternative jersey will feature a redesigned bulldog logo.

Sydney Ice Dogs (2018 alternative)

AIHL news: 27 March 2018

Perth Thunder
– The Thunder have signed Canadian defenceman Landon Oslanski for the upcoming 2018 season. Oslanski has spent the 2017-18 season playing for the Braehead Clan in the Elite Ice Hockey League where he currently has 27 points from 56 games. For more information see the announcement from the club