2018 AIHL season

Sydney Ice Dogs 2018 awards

The Sydney Ice Dogs have announced their 2018 club awards. For more information see the article from the club.

– Most Valuable Player: Grant Toulmin
– Highest Point Scorer: Geordie Wudrick
– Best Defenseman: Shannon McGregor
– Best Local Player: Todd Stephenson
– Most Improved: Aiden Sillato
– Coach’s Award: Tomas Manco
– Player’s Player: Curtis Skip
– Sportsmanship Award: Jonatan Ruth

Melbourne Mustangs 2018 awards night

The Melbourne Mustangs held their 2018 awards night on 15 September.

– Most Valuable Player: Brett Ferguson
– Most Valuable Australian: Patrick O’Kane
– Highest Points Scorer: Ben Davies
– Best Defenceman: Michael McMahon
– Rookie of the Year: Bradley Apps
– Players’ Player: Troy Robertson
– Coaches Award: Aleksi Toivonen
– Most Improved: Matt Stringer
– Most Inspirational: Andrew Erzen
– Fan Favourite: Aleksi Toivonen
– Fan of the Year: Lucan Shortis & Melanie Shortis
– Rick Dwyer Outstanding Service Award: Hamish Jones & Amy Fulton

AIHL news: 11 September 2017

Melbourne Ice
– A few days late reporting this but the Ice announced two of their player awards on 8 September. Declan Bronte won the 2018 best new talent award and Tommy Powell was named player of the year for the 2018 season.

Melbourne Mustangs
– The Mustangs held their annual Players v Sponsors match today at the O’Brien Group Arena with the Sponsors winning 14-11.

2018 AIHL playoffs

The 2018 AIHL playoffs have finished with the CBR Brave defeating the Sydney Bears 4-3 in overtime. The win gives the Brave their first Goodall Cup since joining the league in 2014. The Brave progressed to the final after defeating the Melbourne Mustangs 5-1 in the semifinals while the Bears defeated the Perth Thunder 3-0 in their semifinal. For the sixth year running the finals are sponsored by Air Canada.

The CBR Brave’s Trevor Gerling was named the playoffs most valuable player and Wehebe Darge was named the Skaters Network local player of the finals.

For more information see the TheAIHL.com and for the livestreams of the games see the league YouTube page.

– SF1: Melbourne Mustangs 1-5 CBR Brave (15:00, 1 September 2018, O’Brien Group Arena)
– SF2: Perth Thunder 0-3 Sydney Bears (18:00, 1 September 2018, O’Brien Group Arena)
– GF: Sydney Bears 3-4 OT CBR Brave (15:00, 2 September 2018, O’Brien Group Arena)

Last updated 2 September 2018

Sydney Ice Dogs win 2018 Wilson Cup

The Sydney Ice Dogs have won the 2018 Wilson Cup after winning the series against the Sydney Bears 3-1. The Wilson Cup is awarded to the winner of the four game regular season series between the Bears and Ice Dogs. Previously the Wilson Cup was contested for in a pre-season tournament between the New South Wales based clubs before it was re-purposed to its current form last season.

– Sydney Bears 1-5 Sydney Ice Dogs (5 May 2018)
– Sydney Ice Dogs 3-2 SO Sydney Bears (26 May 2018)
– Sydney Ice Dogs 0-5 Sydney Bears (13 July 2018)
– Sydney Bears 2-7 Sydney Ice Dogs (24 August 2018)

AIHL news: 28 August 2018

The AIHL have announced that they are looking to raise $5,000 in order to stream the 2018 AIHL playoffs. The playoffs commence on 1 September with the semifinals and conclude on 2 September with the Goodall Cup final. If the fundraising is successful the stream will be run on the AIHL’s YouTube channel.

For more information see the GoFundMe page.

2018 AIHL awards: Part 2

The Australian Ice Hockey League have announced the winners of the final threee awards for the 2018 season. The Sydney Bears took out two categories with Anthony Kimlin named goaltender of the year and Ron Kuprowsky named coach of the year. The CBR Brave took out the remaining category with Wehebe Darge named Skaters Network local player of the year.

For details on how the voting process works see the release from the AIHL.

– Goaltender of the Year: Anthony Kimlin (Sydney Bears)
– Coach of the Year: Ron Kuprowsky (Sydney Bears)
– Skaters Network Local Player of the Year: Wehebe Darge (CBR Brave)