Bayley Kubara

CBR Brave 2019 club awards

The CBR Brave held their 2019 Club Awards yesterday.

Most Valuable Player: Matt Climie
Highest Points Scorer: Jesse Gabrielle
Best Defenceman: Matt Harvey
Best Forward: Wehebe Darge
Emerging Brave: Nick Christensen
Players Player: Adam Kambeitz
Coaches Award: Bayley Kubara
Fans Choice: Jesse Gabrielle
John Lewis Memorial Award: Murray Barton & Mandi Webb
Deans Award: Robyn Kemp & David Kemp

AIHL news: 12 April 2018

Adelaide Adrenaline
– The Adrenaline have announced the signing of Canadian Caleb Apperson for the 2018 season. Apperson spent the first half of his 2017-18 season playing for Laurentian University in the U Sports system where he recorded 12 points in 18 games. At the end of February Apperson signed with the Birmingham Bulls of the Southern Professional Hockey League where he currently has four points from 13 games. For more information see the announcement from the club
David Huxley, Sean Greer and Graham Charbonneau have all announced that they will not be playing for the Adrenaline in the 2018 season. For more information see the announcement from the club

CBR Brave
– The Brave have announced the re-signing of Jordon Brunt, Mitchell Henning, Bayley Kubara, and Alex Tétreault
Jayden Lewis has re-signed with the Brave, having last played for the club in 2015. Lewis has spent the last two seasons playing junior hockey in Finland. In the 2017-18 season Lewis played for KaKiPo U20 and PaiHa U20 and currently has 10 points from 21 games.
Dary Flanagan has signed with the Brave having spent last season playing for the Melbourne Ice. The 2018 season will be Flanagan’s third in the AIHL, having previously played for the Mustangs in 2016.
– For more information see the announcement from the club

Sydney Bears
– The Bears have re-signed Brian Funes and Jeremy Vasquez for the 2018 season. Funes will return for his third season with the Bears and eighth in the AIHL having previously played for the Ice Dogs from 2011 to 2015. Vasquez returns for his third season with the club. For more information see the announcement from the club

2018 U20 World Championships: Australia lose to Bulgaria

The Australian men’s national under-20 team have lost 5-7 to Bulgaria in their fourth game of the 2018 IIHF Ice Hockey U20 World Championship Division III tournament. Defenceman Bayley Kubara was named best Australian player of the match. In other games of the day Israel defeated Iceland 6-2 and China beat New Zealand 11-2. After four rounds Australia have dropped down to fifth place in the standings, trailing the leaders Israel by seven points. The teams have a rest day today before returning on Sunday where Australia take on China. The last time these two teams met was at the 2016 Division II Group B World Championship tournament where Australia won 8-2.

For more information on the tournament see the page at

– Australia 5-7 Bulgaria (20:00, 26 January 2018, Winter Sports Palace). Game Card


Israel 4 4 0 0 0 12
Iceland 4 2 0 1 1 7
China 4 2 0 0 2 6
Bulgaria 4 2 0 0 2 6
Australia 4 1 1 0 2 5
New Zealand 4 0 0 0 4 0

2017 AIHL Awards

The AIHL have announced the winners of the 2017 awards. For more information on the awards, including the voting process and nominees, see the article on

– Most Valuable Player: Cameron Critchlow (Adelaide Adrenaline)
– Defenceman of the Year: Rob Haselhurst (Perth Thunder)
– Rookie of the Year: Bayley Kubara (CBR Brave)
– Goaltender of the Year: Damien Ketlo (Sydney Ice Dogs)
– Coach of the Year: Dave Ruck (Perth Thunder)

CBR Brave 2017 awards night

The Brave held their 2017 Presentation Night on 16 August.

– Most Valuable Player: Stephen Blunden
– Best Forward: Stephen Blunden
– Best Defenceman: Dominic Jalbert
– Emerging Brave: Bayley Kubara
– Players Player: Dominic Jalbert
– Coaches Award: Matt Harvey
– Fan Choice: Jan Safar
– John Lewis Memorial Award: Krisy Maricic and Bede Riley