Brent Laver

AWIHL news: 11 August 2017

Melbourne Ice
– The Melbourne Ice have announced the retirement of head coach Jeremy Muir after two years in the position. Muir will be replaced by a panel of coaches lead by former assistant coach Marcus Wong. Brent Laver, Mark Smith and Laurie Piggot form the remaining panel members.

2016 AIHL Awards

The AIHL have announced the winners of the 2016 Awards which were voted on by team representatives and officials. For more information see the article on

– Kendall Trophy (Most Valuable Player): Wehebe Darge (Adelaide Adrenaline)
– Goaltender of the Year: Anthony Kimlin (Sydney Bears)
– Defenceman of the Year: Jan Safar (CBR Brave)
– Rookie of the Year: Casey Kubara (CBR Brave)
– Local Player of the Year: Casey Kubara (CBR Brave)
– Coach of the Year: Brent Laver (Melbourne Ice)
– Kennedy Trophy (Playoffs Most Valuable Player): Dayne Davis (Newcastle North Stars)