Darryl Dunsford

Brisbane Goannas 2019-20 roster

The Brisbane Goannas have released their roster for the 2019-20 AWIHL season. New players to the team include Kelly Costa, Kyniska Hoy, Courtney Mahoney, Imogen Perry (Brisbane Blitz), Dannielle Roberts, Samantha Smith and Veronica Watson.

While dropped from the roster are Brittany Gibbs, Tina Girdler (Sydney Sirens), Charlotte Kelly, Alex MacDonald, Danielle Roberts, Anna Santilli and Emma Steele.

Staff changes sees Darryl Dunsford come in as head coach replacing Matthew Gilpin and Megan Gilchrist replaces Ben Stadtmiller as assistant coach.

Samantha Brophy
Abi Brown
Grace Carbone
Chloe Charles
Kelly Costa
Jaimi Goonan
Cassie Haley (I)
Tracy Hocutt
Kyniska Hoy
Sarah Kinninment
Veera Laiho (I)
Courtney Mahoney
Taylah Pearson
Imogen Perry
Dannielle Roberts
– Samantha Smith
Katherine Thelander
Veronica Watson
Jessica Wytrykusz (I)

– Head coach: Darryl Dunsford
– Assistant coach: Megan Gilchrist
– Goaltender coach: David Pennell
– Equipment manager: Shaun Memmler
– Stength & Conditioning: Britt Gibbs

Goannas appoint Dunsford as head coach

The Brisbane Goannas have announced the signing of Darryl Dunsford as head coach for the 2019-20 AWIHL season. He replaces Matthew Gilpin who coached the team in the 2018-19 season. Dunsford previously coached the Brisbane Blitz of the Australian Junior Ice Hockey League in 2016-17. For more information see the announcement from the club.

AJIHL news: 8 October 2017

The start of the 2017-18 season is getting closer however the AJIHL have yet to announce the full season schedule and the participating teams. Here is what we know so far:

– The Adelaide Generals have held a training camps on 22 September, 29 September and 5 October.
– The Brisbane Blitz will be holding training camps on 25 October and 1 November.
– The Melbourne Glaciers are expected to return for the 2017-18 season.
– The Perth Sharks will again represent Western Australia in the league. Ice Hockey WA have also mentioned they may reform the Perth Pelicans as an exhibition team which will play games against the Sharks between AJIHL tournaments.
– Currently no confirmation on the Sydney teams however Brisbane have two Sydney tournaments scheduled for December.

– Adelaide tournament: 21-22 October. Venue: Adelaide Ice Arena. Known participants: Adelaide Generals, Melbourne Glaciers
– Perth tournament: 9-10 December. Venue: Unknown. Known participants: Adelaide Generals, Perth Sharks
– Sydney tournament #1: 9-10 December. Venue: Unknown. Known participants: Brisbane Blitz
– Sydney tournament #2: 16-17 December. Venue: Unknown. Known participants: Brisbane Blitz
– Brisbane tournament #1: 24-25 February. Venue: Iceworld Boondall. Known participants: Brisbane Blitz
– Brisbane tournament #2: 10-11 March. Venue: Iceworld Boondall. Known participants: Brisbane Blitz
– Finals: 15-18 March. Venue: O’Brien Group Arena

In other news Sebastian Gobeil has been announced as the head coach for the Brisbane Blitz for the upcoming season. Gobeil was the teams assistant coach last season and replaces Darryl Dunsford in the head coach role. The Blitz are expected to announce the rest of the management team in the coming weeks.