Netherlands men’s national ice hockey team

Australian men’s roster for 2020 World Championships

Ice Hockey Australia have released the Australian men’s team roster for the upcoming 2020 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship Division II Group A tournament. The competition will take place from 19 to 25 April in Zagreb, Croatia with Australia competing against China, Croatia, Israel, the Netherlands and Spain.

Changes to the team from the 2019 World Championships include the additions of Kale Costa, Hayden Dawes, Casey Kubara and Lynden Lodge. Both Kai Miettinen and Lliam Webster return to the team after being named in 2019 but didn’t end up playing. While players dropped include Jason Baclig, Jack Carpenter, Tyerell Clare, Tyler Kubara, Mathew Lindsay and Chris Wong.

Matti Luoma replaces Brad Vigon as head coach having held the position of assistant in 2019 and Michael Flaherty comes in as the new assistant coach.

Further information:
Tournament page on

Matt Armstrong (Melbourne Ice)
Zachary Boyle (Adelaide Adrenaline)
Kale Costa (HC Dynamo Pardubice U20)
Wehebe Darge (CBR Brave)
Hayden Dawes (Lindenwood University)
Brian Funes (HC Lidköping)
Robert Haselhurst (Perth Thunder)
Anthony Kimlin (Sydney Bears)
Casey Kubara (Nazareth College)
Lynden Lodge (Perth Thunder)
Robert Malloy (Newcastle Northstars)
Michael McMahon (Melbourne Mustangs)
Kai Miettinen (CBR Brave)
Thomas Powell (Melbourne Ice)
Josef Rezek (Adelaide Adrenaline)
Charlie Smart (Newcastle Northstars)
Beau Taylor
Cameron Todd (University of Jamestown)
Vadim Virjassov (Melbourne Mustangs)
Kieren Webster (Perth Thunder)
Lliam Webster (Melbourne Ice)
Jamie Woodman (Perth Thunder)

– Head coach: Matti Luoma
– Assistant coach: Michael Flaherty
– Team leader: Steve Ransome
– Team manager: Ian Webster

2018 World Championships: Australia finish second

The Australian men’s national team have lost to the Netherlands 2-9 in their final game of the 2018 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship Division II Group A tournament. Goaltender Anthony Kimlin faced 66 shots, saving 57, and was named best Australian player of the game. He was also named the best Australian player of the tournament and selected as the tournaments best goaltender. In other games of the day China defeated Belgium 5-2 and Serbia beat Iceland 5-2. Australia finish the tournament in second place while the Netherlands finish at the top of the standings and are promoted back to Division I Group B for 2019. Iceland finish in last place and are relegated to Division II Group B.

For more information on the tournament see the page at

– Australia 2-9 Netherlands (16:30, 29 April 2018, IJssportcentrum). Game Card


Netherlands 5 5 0 0 0 15
Australia 5 3 1 0 1 11
Serbia 5 3 0 1 1 10
China 5 2 0 0 3 6
Belgium 5 1 0 0 4 3
Iceland 5 0 0 0 5 0