Month: May 2018

AIHL news: 29 May 2018

All-Star Weekend
– The AIHL have released the participants for the All-Star Skills Competition on 2 June at Adelaide Ice Arena. The Melbourne Mustangs’ Nikita Kolesnikovs has been added to Team Boyle, while Mitchell Humphries appears to have pulled out of the competition. The Melbourne Ice’s Matt Armstrong and Thomas Powell have also not been named in any of the Skills Competitions and it is unclear whether they have withdrawn. See for the list of participants.

AIHL news: 27 May 2018

All-Star Weekend
– The coaches have been named for the upcoming All-Star Weekend. Adelaide Adrenaline head coach Jim Fuyarchuk will coach Team Boyle and Adrenaline assistant coach Sami Mantere will be the coach of Team Rezek.

Melbourne Ice
Jaden Pine-Murphy has returned the Ice’s lineup for their two games against the CBR Brave despite earlier reports of him leaving the club. Pine-Murphy backup up Michael James in the 26 May game and got the start in the 27 May game.

2018 ECSL season: Round 9

Round 9 of the 2018 East Coast Super League season has finished with the Sydney Sting defeating the Penrith Raptors in the only game. The Sting extend their lead at the top of the standers which is now six points ahead of the second placed Raptors. Next week the Newcastle North Stars host the Reach Rebels and the Nudo Bombers take on the Raptors.

For more information see the ECSL website.

– Penrith Raptors 2-6 Sydney Sting (19:45, 27 May 2018, Penrith Ice Palace)


Sydney Sting 8 8 0 0 16
Penrith Raptors 8 5 0 3 10
Nudo Bombers 8 3 0 5 6
Newcastle North Stars ECSL 7 1 1 5 3
Reach Rebels 7 1 1 5 3

Last updated 27 May 2018

Dates confirmed for Round 2 of 2018 AW2SCS

Round 2 of the 2018 Australian Women’s Tier 2 Show Case Series will take place on 28 and 29 July in Adelaide. Like in Round 1, Round 2 will consist of ten games across the two days with all five teams returning. The New South Wales Bombers currently lead the competition, two points ahead of the second placed Canberra Pirates.

– New South Wales Bombers – Canberra Pirates (15:45, 28 July 2018)
– Adelaide Valkyries – Melbourne Dragons (17:00, 28 July 2018)
– Canberra Pirates – Southern Stars (18:15, 28 July 2018)
– Melbourne Dragons – New South Wales Bombers (07:30, 29 July 2018)
– Southern Stars – Adelaide Valkyries (08:45, 29 July 2018)
– Melbourne Dragons – Canberra Pirates (10:00, 29 July 2018)
– New South Wales Bombers – Southern Stars (11:15, 29 July 2018)
– Adelaide Valkyries – New South Wales Bombers (15:45, 29 July 2018)
– Southern Stars – Melbourne Dragons (17:00, 29 July 2018)
– Canberra Pirates – Adelaide Valkyries (18:15, 29 July 2018)

2018 AIHL season: Round 6

Round 6 of the 2018 Australian Ice Hockey League season has finished with wins for the Perth Thunder, Newcastle Northstars, Sydney ice Dogs, CBR Brave and Sydney Bears. The Brave remain on top of the standings, five points ahead of the second placed Thunder. Next week the AIHL host the All-Star Weekend at the Adelaide Ice Arena while regular competition resumes on 9 June.

For more information see the AIHL website.

– Adelaide Adrenaline 2-6 Perth Thunder (16:30, 26 May 2018, Perth Ice Arena)
– Melbourne Mustangs 5-6 SO Newcastle Northstars (17:00, 26 May 2018, Hunter Ice Skating Stadium)
– Sydney Ice Dogs 3-2 SO Sydney Bears (17:00, 26 May 2018, Macquarie Ice Rink)
– Melbourne Ice 0-5 CBR Brave (17:30, 26 May 2018, Phillip Ice Skating Centre)
– Adelaide Adrenaline 3-5 Perth Thunder (16:30, 27 May 2018, Perth Ice Arena)
– Melbourne Ice 1-4 CBR Brave (16:30, 27 May 2018, Phillip Ice Skating Centre)
– Melbourne Mustangs 3-6 Sydney Bears (17:00, 27 May 2018, Macquarie Ice Rink)


CBR Brave 9 7 0 0 2 21
Perth Thunder 10 5 0 1 4 16
Newcastle Northstars 9 3 2 2 2 15
Sydney Ice Dogs 8 3 2 1 2 14
Sydney Bears 8 3 1 1 3 12
Melbourne Mustangs 9 3 0 2 4 11
Melbourne Ice 9 2 2 0 5 10
Adelaide Adrenaline 10 2 1 1 6 9

Last updated 27 May 2018

AIHL news: 25 May 2018

Melbourne Ice
– Goaltender Jaden Pine-Murphy has left the club after six seasons. Pine-Murphy played backup to Michael James during the first few rounds of the 2018 season and received only 20 minutes in the Ice’s season opener against the Adelaide Adrenaline. Michael Breedveld replaces Pine-Murphy as the backup goaltender while the Ice wait for James Downie to arrive from the United States.

Melbourne Mustangs
– New signing: Nikita Kolesnikovs. Position: Defence. 2017-18: Edinburgh Capitals (EIHL) – 22 games, 9 points, KS Cracovia (PHL) – 15 games, 4 points.

AIHL news: 24 May 2018

AIHL All-Star Weekend
– Former Adelaide Adrenaline players Joshua Harding and David Huxley have been added to the rosters for the upcoming 2018 AIHL All-Star Weekend. Both players will join the 28 players previously announced with Harding on Team Rezek and Huxley on Team Boyle. Harding last played for the Adrenaline in 2016 and finished his AIHL career with 186 points from 258 games. Huxley retired from the AIHL during the off-season and finished his career with 96 points from 267 games.

Preliminary rosters announced for 2018 AIHL All-Star Weekend

The AIHL have announced the preliminary rosters for the upcoming 2018 AIHL All-Star Weekend. Included on Team Boyle is Greg Oddy who recently announced his retirement from the AIHL. The league is expected to announce further players in the lead up to the event. The All-Star Weekend will take place on 2 and 3 June at the Adelaide Ice Arena with a junior camp and skills competition on 2 June and the All-Star game on 3 June.

The league earlier announced that the Adelaide Rush of the Australian Women’s Ice Hockey League will also feature on the weekend where they will demonstrate each contest in the skills competition.

For more information see the announcement from the league

Team Rezek
Matt Armstrong (Melbourne Ice)
Sebastian Andersson (Adelaide Adrenaline)
Ben Breault (Perth Thunder)
Ellesse Carini (Sydney Ice Dogs)
Jack Carpenter (Melboure Ice)
Nathan Chiarlitti (Sydney Ice Dogs)
Glen Forbes-White (Adelaide Adrenaline)
Rob Haselhurst (Newcastle Northstars)
Aleš Krátoška (Adelaide Adrenaline)
Robert Malloy (Newcastle Northstars)
Thomas Powell (Melbourne Ice)
Josef Rezek (Adelaide Adrenaline)
Vadim Virjassov (Melbourne Mustangs)
Lliam Webster (Melbourne Ice)

Team Boyle
Alex Adams (Adelaide Adrenaline)
Charles Adams (Sydney Bears)
Caleb Apperson (Adelaide Adrenaline)
Zach Boyle (Adelaide Adrenaline)
Andrew Cox (Perth Thunder)
Peter Di Salvo (Perth Thunder)
Joe Harcharik (Newcastle Northstars)
Mitch Humphries (Melbourne Mustangs)
Anthony Kimlin (Sydney Bears)
Remy McGuiness (Adelaide Adrenaline)
Greg Oddy (Adelaide Adrenaline)
Nick Rivait (Newcastle Northstars)
Grant Toulmin (Sydney Ice Dogs)
Jamie Woodman (Perth Thunder)