2019 AIHL season

AIHL and AWIHL clubs feature in Australasia’s Best Sporting Team 2019

The CBR Brave, Sydney Sirens and Melbourne Ice Women have all ranked in the Top 25 of the Australasia’s Best Sporting Team 2019 list produced by Platinum Asset Management and GAIN LINE Analytics. The CBR Brave ranked highest for ice hockey coming in at ninth and was the only AIHL club featured. The Sydney Sirens and Melbourne Ice Women ranked 21st and 23rd respectively. The Newcastle Northstars dropped out of the Top 25 after ranking 19th in the 2018 list.

Further information:
Australasia’s Best Sporting Team 2019
Best Sporting Team 1994-2018
Brave emerge as Canberra’s best team in Gain Line Analytic study by Chris Dutton

Melbourne Mustangs 2019 Club Awards

The Melbourne Mustangs held their 2019 Club Awards last weekend.

– Most Valuable Player: Christian Isackson
– Most Valuable Australian Player: Matt Anderson
– Highest Point Scorer: Christian Isackson
– Best Defence: Michael McMahon
– Most Improved: Matt Anderson
– Rookie of the Year: Thomas Flack
– Coach’s Award: Vadim Virjassov
– Player’s Player: Jayden Pine-Murphy
– Most Inspirational: Jordan Owens
– Fan Favourite: Gavin Birchler
– Fan of the Year: Nathan Tanner
– Rick Dwyer Outstanding Service Award: Wes Holmes

Adelaide Adrenaline 2019 club awards

The Adelaide Adrenaline held their 2019 Club Awards on 31 August. For more information see the announcement from the club.

– Most Valuable Player: Jake Riley
– Top Scorer: Ales Kratoska
– Top Defenceman: Zach Boyle and Marcel McGuiness
– Top Forward: Jake Riley
– Rising Star: Glen Forbes-White
– Rookie of the Year: Andrew Chen
– Fan’s Choice: Glen Forbes-White
– Volunteer of the Year: Andrew Draper
– President’s Award: Jason Geyer

2019 AIHL playoffs

The 2019 AIHL playoffs have finished with the Sydney Bears defeating the Perth Thunder 5-2 in the final. The win gives the Bears their first Goodall Cup since 2007 and third overall. The Bears progressed to the final after defeating the CBR Brave 6-4 in the semifinals while the Thunder defeated the Newcastle Northstars 3-2 in their semifinal. For the seventh year running the finals were sponsored by Air Canada.

The Sydney Bears’ Danick Gauthier was named the playoffs most valuable player.

For more information see the TheAIHL.com and for the livestreams of the games see the league YouTube page.

– SF1: Sydney Bears 6-4 CBR Brave (15:00, 31 August 2019, Hunter Ice Skating Stadium)
– SF2: Perth Thunder 3-2 Newcastle Northstars (19:00, 31 August 2019, Hunter Ice Skating Stadium)
– GF: Sydney Bears 5-2 Perth Thunder (15:30, 1 September 2019, Hunter Ice Skating Stadium)

Last updated 1 September 2019

2019 AIHL player awards

The AIHL announced the 2019 player awards today.

– Most Valuable Player: Dylan Quaile (Sydney Ice Dogs)
– Defenceman of the Year: Dylan Quaile (Sydney Ice Dogs)
– Goaltender of the Year: Matt Climie (CBR Brave)
– Skaters Network Local Player of the Year: Kieren Webster (Perth Thunder)
– Rookie of the Year: Jake Ratcliffe (Sydney Bears)
– Coach of the Year: John Kennedy (Newcastle Northstars)

Ice sign Sweatman

The Melbourne Ice have announced the signing of forward Samuel Sweatman for the remainder of the 2019 season. Sweatman spent the 2018-19 season playing for HPK U16 Team in the Jr. C Suomi-sarja Q, HPK U18 Akatemia in the Jr. B Suomi-sarja Q and the Melbourne Glaciers in the Australian Junior Ice Hockey League.

2019 AIHL season: Round 18

Round 18 of the 2019 Australian Ice Hockey League season has finished with wins for the Sydney Bears, Newcastle Northstars, Perth Thunder and Melbourne Mustangs. The 2019 regular season finishes with the CBR Brave at the top of the standings, 25 points ahead of the second placed Northstars. Next week is the playoffs with the semifinals on Saturday and the final on Sunday. In the semifinals the Brave take on the Bears and the Northstars take on the Thunder.

Skaters Network Player of the Week: Jake Ratcliffe (Sydney Bears)

For more information see the AIHL website.

Results (all times local)
– Sydney Bears 4-3 Sydney Ice Dogs (19:30, 23 August 2019, Macquarie Ice Rink)
– Melbourne Mustangs 2-3 OT Newcastle Northstars (17:00, 24 August 2019, Hunter Ice Skating Stadium)
– Adelaide Adrenaline 3-8 Sydney Bears (17:00, 24 August 2019, Macquarie Ice Rink)
– Perth Thunder 8-1 Melbourne Ice (17:00, 24 August 2019, O’Brien Icehouse)
– Perth Thunder 7-3 Melbourne Ice (14:00, 25 August 2019, O’Brien Icehouse)
– Adelaide Adrenaline 3-14 Newcastle Northstars (16:00, 25 August 2019, Hunter Ice Skating Stadium)
– Melbourne Mustangs 4-3 OT Sydney Ice Dogs (16:45, 25 August 2019, Macquarie Ice Rink)


CBR Brave 28 26 0 1 1 79
Newcastle Northstars 28 16 3 0 9 54
Perth Thunder 28 16 1 1 10 51
Sydney Bears 28 15 2 0 11 49
Melbourne Mustangs 28 12 1 4 11 42
Sydney Ice Dogs 28 10 1 3 14 35
Melbourne Ice 28 6 3 0 19 24
Adelaide Adrenaline 28 0 0 2 26 2

Last updated 27 August 2019