Erin Beaver

Sydney Sirens 2019-20 roster

The Sydney Sirens have released their roster for the 2019-20 AWIHL season. New players to the team include Nadine Edney (St. Lawrence University), Sarah Edney (Buffalo Beauts), Tina Girdler (Brisbane Goannas), Jillian Murphy, Kayla Nielsen (St. Lawrence University) and Maya Zyl.

While dropped from the roster are Erin Beaver, Kristen Embrey, Sandra Giustiniani, Paula Keen, Annelie Kvisle, Amanda Laine, Olivia Last (RoKi), Phoebe Roberts and Shiarna Tarasenko.

In terms of team staff Jayden Ryan replaces Jeff Helbren as head coach. Helbren served as head coach for the Sirens for the last two seasons. Kaylee White and Don MacDonald come in as assistant coaches replacing James Hammond.

Anna Badaoui
Ebony Brunt
Ava Calabria
Elizabeth Chia
Stephenie Cochrane
Sera Dogramaci
Nadine Edney (I)
Sarah Edney (I)
Tina Girdler
Sharna Godfrey
Remi Harvey
Eiland Kenyon
Amelia Matheson
Cleo Mayer
Hollie McFadden
Katherine McOnie
Jillian Murphy
Kayla Nielsen (I)
Chloe Walker
– Maya Zyl

– Head coach: Jayden Ryan
– Assistant coach: Kaylee White
– Assistant coach: Don MacDonald
– Team manager: Neil McFadden

2018 AWIHL playoffs

The Melbourne Ice have won the 2018 Joan McKowen Trophy after defeating the Sydney Sirens 4-2 in the grand final. The Ice advanced to the final after defeating the Brisbane Goannas 5-1 in the semifinals while the Sirens progressed with a 7-4 win over the Adelaide Rush. The win gives the Ice their sixth title and first since 2016.

Following the final the league also handed out the player awards. The Sydney Sirens’ Stephenie Cochrane was named the Skaters Network Player of the Year and Erin Beaver won best defenceman. Best goaltender was awarded to Keesha Atkins of the Adelaide Rush and the Rush’s Ashley Pelkey was named best forward. The Melbourne Ice’s Marnie Pullin won the Nellie Gee Rookie of the Year and Jessica Pinkerton was the highest posts scorer.

Further information:
Live streaming details
League website

– Adelaide Rush 4-7 Sydney Sirens (15:00, 17 March 2018, O’Brien Group Arena)
– Brisbane Goannas 1-5 Melbourne Ice (17:30, 17 March 2018, O’Brien Group Arena)

Third place game
– Brisbane Goannas 2-1 Adelaide Rush (14:30, 18 March 2018, O’Brien Group Arena)

Grand final
– Melbourne Ice 4-2 Sydney Sirens (17:00, 18 March 2018, O’Brien Group Arena)

Last updated 18 March 2018