Jan Safar

CBR Brave 2018 team leaders

Matthew Harvey replaces Mark Rummukainen as team captain. Rummukainen had held the captaincy since 2014. Jordan Gavin returns as alternate captain. Wehebe Darge and Kai Miettinen take on the alternate captain role, replacing Jan Safar who did not return to the club after playing in 2016 and 2017.

– Captain: Matthew Harvey
– Alternate: Wehebe Darge
– Alternate: Jordan Gavin
– Alternate: Kai Miettinen

CBR Brave 2017 awards night

The Brave held their 2017 Presentation Night on 16 August.

– Most Valuable Player: Stephen Blunden
– Best Forward: Stephen Blunden
– Best Defenceman: Dominic Jalbert
– Emerging Brave: Bayley Kubara
– Players Player: Dominic Jalbert
– Coaches Award: Matt Harvey
– Fan Choice: Jan Safar
– John Lewis Memorial Award: Krisy Maricic and Bede Riley

AIHL news: 21 April 2017

CBR Brave
– The Brave have announced their captains for the 2017 season. Mark Rummukainen has been named captain with Jordan Gavin and Jan Safar as the two alternate captains.

Sydney Ice Dogs
Reach Crane Trucks have re-signed as a major sponsor with the Ice Dogs for the 2017 season. For more information see the announcement from the club.

2016 AIHL Awards

The AIHL have announced the winners of the 2016 Awards which were voted on by team representatives and officials. For more information see the article on TheAIHL.com

– Kendall Trophy (Most Valuable Player): Wehebe Darge (Adelaide Adrenaline)
– Goaltender of the Year: Anthony Kimlin (Sydney Bears)
– Defenceman of the Year: Jan Safar (CBR Brave)
– Rookie of the Year: Casey Kubara (CBR Brave)
– Local Player of the Year: Casey Kubara (CBR Brave)
– Coach of the Year: Brent Laver (Melbourne Ice)
– Kennedy Trophy (Playoffs Most Valuable Player): Dayne Davis (Newcastle North Stars)

CBR Brave 2016 Player Awards

The Brave held their 2016 players awards on 17 August.

– Bravest of the Brave: Jan Safar and Mathieu Guertin
– Best Forward: Mathieu Guertin
– Best Defender: Jan Safar
– Emerging Brave: Casey Kubara
– Player’s Player: Kai Miettinen
– Highest Points Scorer: Mathieu Guertin
– John Lewis Memorial Award: Andrew & Judy Deans
– Fans Choice: James Byers

2015 AIHL Playoffs

The 2015 AIHL Playoffs have finished with the Newcastle North Stars defeating the Melbourne Ice 3-2 in overtime. The win gives the North Stars their fifth Goodall Cup and first since 2008. The North Stars progressed to the finals after defeating the CBR Brave 4-3 in the semifinal, while the Ice defeated the Perth Thunder 1-0 in their semifinal. For the third year running the finals were sponsored by Air Canada.

For more information see the announcement on the AIHL website

  • SF1: CBR Brave 3 – 4 Newcastle North Stars (15:00, 29 August 2015, Medibank Icehouse)
    LivestreamGame Card
  • SF2: Perth Thunder 0 – 1 Melbourne Ice (18:30, 29 August 2015, Medibank Icehouse)
    LivestreamGame Card
  • GF: Newcastle North Stars 3 – 2 OT Melbourne Ice (15:00, 30 August 2015, Medibank Icehouse)
    LivestreamGame Card

2015 season awards:

North Stars announce 2015 imports

The Newcastle North Stars have announced their imports for the upcoming 2015 season.

The four new imports join American John Kennedy who will start his third season with the North Stars and is expecting to gain an Australian permanent residency in the coming months. Davis, like Kennedy is also working towards his permanent residency.

For more information see the Newcastle Herald’s article by Josh Leeson.