Kai Miettinen

CBR Brave 2018 awards night

The Brave held their 2018 awards night on 20 August.

– Most Valuable Player: Trevor Gerling and Matt Hewitt
– Best Forward: Chris Leveille
– Best Defender: Channing Bresciani
– Leading Points: Trevor Gerling
– Emerging Brave: Mitchell Henning
– Players Player: Wehebe Darge
– Coaches Award: Kai Miettinen
– Fans Choice: Matt Hewitt
– John Lewis Memorial Award: Darryl Day
– Deans Award: Tristan Metcalfe

CBR Brave 2018 team leaders

Matthew Harvey replaces Mark Rummukainen as team captain. Rummukainen had held the captaincy since 2014. Jordan Gavin returns as alternate captain. Wehebe Darge and Kai Miettinen take on the alternate captain role, replacing Jan Safar who did not return to the club after playing in 2016 and 2017.

– Captain: Matthew Harvey
– Alternate: Wehebe Darge
– Alternate: Jordan Gavin
– Alternate: Kai Miettinen

CBR Brave 2016 Player Awards

The Brave held their 2016 players awards on 17 August.

– Bravest of the Brave: Jan Safar and Mathieu Guertin
– Best Forward: Mathieu Guertin
– Best Defender: Jan Safar
– Emerging Brave: Casey Kubara
– Player’s Player: Kai Miettinen
– Highest Points Scorer: Mathieu Guertin
– John Lewis Memorial Award: Andrew & Judy Deans
– Fans Choice: James Byers

AIHL news: 23 August 2013

CBR Brave
The CBR Brave have announced their 2015 player awards today as follows:

The club has also announced the formation the CBR Brave Foundation. It has been established to help the team in raising funds for mental illness, depression and suicide prevention with a focus on young men. The Foundation will provide annual grants to charities in these areas and there are plans to launch an online auction next week to start the initiative.

Newcastle North Stars
Geordie Wudrick has broken the records for most points and most goals scored in a season, finishing with 91 points which included 44 goals and 47 assists. Wudrick’s 91 points beats previous record holder Adison DeBoer’s 85 points which was set in the 2011 season for the Canberra Knights. His 44 goals meanwhile beats the previous record of 42 set by the Gold Coast Blue Tongues’ Matt Amado in 2011.

News Round-Up

Some headlines from the week: