Matt Climie

2019 AIHL player awards

The AIHL announced the 2019 player awards today.

– Most Valuable Player: Dylan Quaile (Sydney Ice Dogs)
– Defenceman of the Year: Dylan Quaile (Sydney Ice Dogs)
– Goaltender of the Year: Matt Climie (CBR Brave)
– Skaters Network Local Player of the Year: Kieren Webster (Perth Thunder)
– Rookie of the Year: Jake Ratcliffe (Sydney Bears)
– Coach of the Year: John Kennedy (Newcastle Northstars)

CBR Brave 2019 club awards

The CBR Brave held their 2019 Club Awards yesterday.

Most Valuable Player: Matt Climie
Highest Points Scorer: Jesse Gabrielle
Best Defenceman: Matt Harvey
Best Forward: Wehebe Darge
Emerging Brave: Nick Christensen
Players Player: Adam Kambeitz
Coaches Award: Bayley Kubara
Fans Choice: Jesse Gabrielle
John Lewis Memorial Award: Murray Barton & Mandi Webb
Deans Award: Robyn Kemp & David Kemp

Brave sign Climie

The CBR Brave have announced the signing of Canadian goaltender Matt Climie for the 2019 season. Climie started his 2018-19 season playinf for HC TWK Innsbruck in the Erste Bank Eishockey Liga where he posted a 0.771 save percentage from three games. He then left Innsbruck and signed with the Sheffield Steelers of the Elite Ice Hockey League where he played eleven games and recorded a 0.896 save percentage before being released. After being released from the Steelers Climie joined HDD Jesenice of the Alps Hockey League. Playing seven games in their regular season Climie posted a 0.926 save percentage before advancing to playoffs where he recorded a 0.956 save percentage from eleven games. For more information see the announcement from the club.