Robert Malloy

Newcastle Northstars 2018 Awards Night

The Northstars held their 2018 awards night on 22 August.

– Most Valuable Player: Nick Rivait
– Tony Huntley Award for Best Australian Player: Patrick Nadin
– Most Dedicated: Robert Malloy
– Most Improved: Shane Southwood
– Best Defensive Player: Nick Rivait
– Coaches’ Award: Joe Harcharik

Northstars 2017 player awards

The Newcastle Northstars held their 2017 Players Awards yesterday.

– Most Valuable Player: Joe Harcharik
– Best Defensive Player: Robert Malloy
– Tony Huntley Memorial Award for best Australian player: Mat Lindsay
– Coaches’ Award: David Ferrari
– Most Dedicated: Charlie Smart
– Most Improved: Liam Manwarring

Newcastle North Stars 2016 Player Awards

The Newcastle North Stars also held their awards night on 17 August. For more information see the article by Ellie-Marie Watts

– Most Valuable Player: Connor McLaughlin
– Tony Huntley Award for Best Australian Player: Mathew Lindsay
– Best Defensive Player Award: John Kennedy
– Most Improved Player: Patrick Nadin
– Most Dedicated Player Award: Robert Malloy and Dayne Davis
– Coaches’ Award: Matt Wetini

AIHL news: 25 April 2016

Adelaide Adrenaline
Greg Oddy has re-signed with the Adrenaline for his ninth season with the club and his eighteenth in the AIHL. He will also continue on as captain for the club, a role Oddy has held with both the Adrenaline and Avalanche since 2006.

Newcastle North Stars
Robert Malloy has been appointed captain of the Newcastle North Stars following retirement of Robert Starke. Malloy joined the North Stars in 2015 after four seasons with the Sydney Ice Dogs including two as captain. For more information see the announcement from the club.

2016 World Championships: Australia beat North Korea

The Australian men’s national team have won their fourth game of the 2016 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship Division II Group B tournament, defeating North Korea 22-1. Defenceman Robert Malloy was named best Australian player of the match. In other games of the day New Zealand defeated Bulgaria 14-1 and Mexico beat Israel 9-3. At the end of the forth round Australia remain in first place, one point clear of the second place Mexico. Australia take on New Zealand today in their final game of the tournament.

For more information on the tournament see the page at

  • Australia 22 – 1 North Korea (16:30, 14 April 2016, Ice Dome). Game Card


Australia 4 3 1 0 0 11
Mexico 4 3 0 1 0 10
North Korea 4 2 0 0 2 6
New Zealand 4 2 0 0 2 6
Israel 4 1 0 0 3 3
Bulgaria 4 0 0 0 4 0

AIHL news: 27 August 2015

Newcastle North Stars
The Newcastle North Stars have announced their 2015 player awards today as follows:

For more information see the Newcastle Herald’s article by Josh Leeson.

Perth Thunder
Toni Kluuskeri has signed with Narvik Hockey of the Norwegian First Division for the upcoming 2015-16 season. The season will be Kluuskeri’s first in Norway, having previously played in France, Sweden and his native Finland.

Sydney Bears
Joseph Harcharik has signed with Sollentuna HC of the Swedish Hockeyettan for the upcoming 2015-16 season. The season will be Harcharik’s first in Sweden, having come to the Bears from Orlik Opole of the Polska Liga Hokejowa.

Australia defeat Serbia in shootout

The Australian national team have won their first game of the 2015 IIHF World Championship Division II Group A tournament, defeating Serbia 4-3 in a shootout. Robert Malloy was named best Australian player of the match after scoring four points, including the game winning goal. In other games of the day Romania defeated Belgium 4-3 and Spain beat Iceland 4-2. After the end of round three Australia remain in last place, seven points behind leaders Romania. Australia take on Iceland today in their fourth game of the tournament.

A live stream was available at (see the IIHF page for game times)

For more information see the tournament page at or follow the team on their Facebook page.

  • Serbia 3 – 4 SO Australia (16:30, 16 April 2015, Laugardalur Arena). Game Card

Standings after Round 3:

Romania 3 3 0 0 0 9
Spain 3 2 0 0 1 6
Serbia 3 1 0 1 1 4
Iceland 3 1 0 0 2 3
Belgium 3 1 0 0 2 3
Australia 3 0 1 0 2 2

Ice Dogs re-sign Blazevic, Funes and McGregor

The Sydney Ice Dogs have confirmed that Jamie Blazevic, Brian Funes and Shannon McGregor have re-signed with the club for the upcoming season. Funes has also been awarded the captaincy role for 2015 following the departure of former captain Robert Malloy who left the Ice Dogs to join the Newcastle North Stars for the 2015 season.

North Stars Sign Malloy and Bye

NBN News have announced the the Newcastle North Stars have signed former Sydney Ice Dogs captain Robert Malloy and Ice Dogs forward Mitch Bye for the upcoming 2015 AIHL season. Both players will join former Ice Dogs head coach Andrew Petrie who signed with the North Stars back in October.

For more information see the report by NBN News or read the article by the Newcastle Herald.

See also: Petrie replaces Doré as Head Coach.