Wilson Cup

Wilson Cup unlikely for 2017

The Sydney Bears have announced that it unlikely that the Wilson Cup tournament will be held in 2017 citing a high workload in relation to their move to the Macquarie Ice Rink. The Wilson Cup was founded in 2007 as a pre-season tournament for the New South Wales based AIHL clubs. The tournament has been held on six occasions, from 2007 to 2009 and 2014 to 2016. The Bears won the 2016 edition, defeating the Sydney Ice Dogs 3-1 in the final.

Ice Dogs win the 2014 Wilson Cup

The Sydney Ice Dogs have defeated the Newcastle North Stars 4-2 in the final of the 2014 Wilson Cup. The Ice Dogs took a 3-0 lead at the end of the first but the North Stars fought back and by the end of the second period their lead had been reduced with the scores sitting at 3-2. The Ice Dogs scored the only goal of the third period and the game finished 4-2 with the Ice Dogs winning their first Wilson Cup title.