Month: March 2015

Junior Brave to play in NSW Midget League

The CBR Brave have announced the formation of the Junior Brave, a junior affiliate team which will play in the NSW Midget League. The team has been created in conjunction with Ice Hockey ACT and will be led by Tanya and Andrew Brunt. The teams first game is on 12 April in Canberra where they will take on the Liverpool Saints.

The Junior Brave are the first Canberra-based team to play in the NSW Midget League since the Canberra Phoenix left the league after the end of the 2011 season.

O’Kane joins the Thunder on loan

The Perth Thunder has announced that the Melbourne Mustangs have agreed to loan Patrick O’Kane for the upcoming exhibition series against the New Zealand national team. The Thunder made the deal in order to bolster their line-up due to a couple of their players being unvailable on national team duties and some of their import signings having yet to arrive in Perth.

Mustangs announce 2015 roster

The Melbourne Mustangs are the first team to announce their roster for the upcoming season. Imports Viktor Gibbs Sjödin, Jeff Grant and Patrick O’Kane all return for the season and are joined by Canadian Rusty Masters and Estonian Vadim Virjassov, who returns for his third season with the club after a year playing for HC Viking in the Meistriliiga. The two new imports replace Czech Martin Kutek and American Jack Wolgemuth. Australian players who are new to the roster are goaltender Jack Hayes and junior development players Robbie Rama and Corey Stringer. Players cut from the team include Matthew Anderson, Alexander Hall, Adrian Nash, Brendan Oakes, Troy Robertson and Robert Summons

For more information on some of the new player see the article by Amy Fulton over at

Player Pos. Nat.
Andrew Belic F AUS
Stephen Belic D AUS
Jamie Bourke F AUS
Damian Bright D AUS
Fraser Carson G AUS
Ethan Cornford F AUS
Andrew Fitzgerald F AUS
Viktor Gibbs Sjödin F SWE
Jeff Grant D USA
Jack Hayes G AUS
Joseph Hughes F AUS
Vincent Hughes D AUS
Michael James G AUS
Sean Jones F AUS
Rusty Masters D CAN
Jackson McCoy D AUS
Brendan McDowell F AUS
Michael McDowell D AUS
Alan Moss D AUS
Patrick O’Kane F USA
Robbie Rama F AUS
Corey Stringer D AUS
Matt Stringer F AUS
Vadim Virjassov F EST
Tom Voller F AUS

2015 Wilson Cup: Game 2 & 3

The Sydney Bears have won their second game of the Wilson Cup defeating the Sydney Ice Dogs 3-2 at the Liverpool Catholic Club Ice Rink. The second game of the weekend saw the Ice Dogs travel to Newcastle to take on the North Stars. The Ice Dogs lost 1-5, bringing up their third loss of the tournament and the North Stars first win.

For more wrap-up of Game 2 see the article by Emily Rebolledo at

2015 Wilson Cup Schedule:

  • Game 1: Sydney Bears 5 – 3 Sydney Ice Dogs (17:00, 15 March 2015, Penrith Ice Arena). Game Card
  • Game 2: Sydney Ice Dogs 2 – 3 Sydney Bears (17:00, 28 March 2015, Liverpool Catholic Club Ice Rink). Game Card
  • Game 3: Newcastle North Stars 5 – 1 Sydney Ice Dogs (17:00, 29 March 2015, Hunter Ice Skating Stadium). Game Card
  • Game 4: Sydney Bears – Newcastle North Stars (17:00, 5 April 2015, Penrith Ice Palace)
  • Game 5: Newcastle North Stars – Sydney Bears (17:00, 11 April 2015, Hunter Ice Skating Stadium)
  • Game 6: Sydney Ice Dogs – Newcastle North Stars (17:00, 12 April 2015, Hunter Ice Skating Stadium)
  • Final: Team 1 v Team 2 (18 April 2015, TBA)

Standings after Game 3:

Sydney Bears 2 2 0 0 0 8 5 6
Newcastle North Stars 1 1 0 0 0 5 1 3
Sydney Ice Dogs 3 0 0 0 3 6 13 0

Ice sign Delsar

The Melbourne Ice have announced the signing of Cass Delsar for the 2015 season. Delsar last played in the AIHL in 2012 for the Adelaide Adrenaline and has competed in a total 166 AIHL games from 2003 to 2012 for the Adelaide Avalanche, Sydney Ice Dogs and the Adrenaline. Delsar is also a former member of the Australian national team having competed in the 2007 and 2010 IIHF World Championships.

Perth announce Thunder TV

The Perth Thunder have announced that they will be launching Thunder TV. The program will feature game highlights, news from around the league and a look into the players, fans and spectators lives on and off the ice. The program will be available via the Perth Thunder’s website and their Facebook page. A release date for the program has yet to be announced.

AIHL unveil new logo

The Australian Ice Hockey League has officially unveiled their new branding. The new logo combines the Australian Commonwealth Star and a blade of an ice hockey stick and was developed by Canberra-based company Coordinate who also developed the branding for the CBR Brave. The announcement also introduces the leagues new slogan “Fast, Fierce, Full-on”.

For more information on the new branding see the media release on

2015 AIHL logo

The previous logo was introduced in 2011 and was a re-coloured version of the leagues existing logo at the time. The black and white re-colour followed the NHL’s similar re-colour of their logo in 2005.

Old AIHL logoOld AIHL logo - 2

Australia U18 lose to Serbia

The Australian men’s under-18 team have lost their final game of the 2015 IIHF U18 World Championship Division II Group B tournament, losing 1-6 to Serbia. Mitchell Henning was named best Australian player of the game and Lynden Lodge was awarded best Australian player of the tournament. In other games of the day Romania defeated Spain 4-3 in overtime and Belgium beat China 7-2. Australia finish the tournament in last place and are relegated to Division III Group A for 2016, while Romania finished in first place and are promoted to Division II Group A.

A live stream was available at (see the IIHF page for game times)

For more information see the tournament page at or follow the team on their Facebook page.

  • Serbia 1 – 6 Australia (20:00, 22 March 2015, SPENS). Game Card

Final standings:

Romania 5 4 1 0 0 14
Spain 5 4 0 1 0 13
Serbia 5 3 0 0 2 9
Belgium 5 1 1 0 3 5
China 5 1 0 0 4 3
Australia 5 0 0 1 4 1

Bjurestam and Engström travel South

Swedish imports Jonathan Bjurestam and Kevin Rowa Engström have travelled from Sydney to Adelaide for tryouts with the Adrenaline ahead of the 2015 season. The two players joined the A-Grade All Stars team in yesterdays exhibition game against the Adrenaline, a week after lining up for the Syndey Bears in the 2015 Wilson Cup opener. Engström scored the only goal for the All Stars with the team going on to lose 1-5.

For a wrap-up of the exhibition game see the article by Jeremy Rochow at