Update on the 2016-17 AJIHL season

Further updates have come to light regarding the 2016-17 AJIHL season. Last years Tier 2 teams have been moved up to the main competition with the league splitting into two conferences. The first conference will involve Melbourne, Perth and Adelaide while the second will consist of Brisbane, Canberra and two Sydney teams. An earlier announcement by Ice Hockey NSW had mentioned that Perth would field two teams however this is yet to be confirmed. While Victoria had been expected to drop to one team however Ice Hockey Victoria is yet to make a final decision on whether they will field one or two teams in the competition.

Due to the increased number of states competing in this years competition the format has been altered in order to keep costs down. The regular season will consist of conference based tournaments hosted in each city. The tournaments are expected to take place in January, February and March/April. Finals between all of the participating states will be hosted by the higher ranked teams.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s