Danick Gauthier

2019 AIHL playoffs

The 2019 AIHL playoffs have finished with the Sydney Bears defeating the Perth Thunder 5-2 in the final. The win gives the Bears their first Goodall Cup since 2007 and third overall. The Bears progressed to the final after defeating the CBR Brave 6-4 in the semifinals while the Thunder defeated the Newcastle Northstars 3-2 in their semifinal. For the seventh year running the finals were sponsored by Air Canada.

The Sydney Bears’ Danick Gauthier was named the playoffs most valuable player.

For more information see the TheAIHL.com and for the livestreams of the games see the league YouTube page.

– SF1: Sydney Bears 6-4 CBR Brave (15:00, 31 August 2019, Hunter Ice Skating Stadium)
– SF2: Perth Thunder 3-2 Newcastle Northstars (19:00, 31 August 2019, Hunter Ice Skating Stadium)
– GF: Sydney Bears 5-2 Perth Thunder (15:30, 1 September 2019, Hunter Ice Skating Stadium)

Last updated 1 September 2019

2019 AIHL All-Star Weekend: All-Star Game

The 2019 AIHL All-Star Weekend has finished with Team North defeating Team South 11-9 in the All-Star Game at the Sydney International Convention Centre. Perth Thunder’s Keven Veilleux claimed the Mick McCormack Cup after being named the most valuable player.

Skills competition:
– Fastest skater: Jesse Gabrielle (CBR Brave)
– Hardest shot: Danick Gauthier (Sydney Bear)