Ron Kuprowsky

2018 AIHL awards: Part 2

The Australian Ice Hockey League have announced the winners of the final threee awards for the 2018 season. The Sydney Bears took out two categories with Anthony Kimlin named goaltender of the year and Ron Kuprowsky named coach of the year. The CBR Brave took out the remaining category with Wehebe Darge named Skaters Network local player of the year.

For details on how the voting process works see the release from the AIHL.

– Goaltender of the Year: Anthony Kimlin (Sydney Bears)
– Coach of the Year: Ron Kuprowsky (Sydney Bears)
– Skaters Network Local Player of the Year: Wehebe Darge (CBR Brave)

Kuprowsky appointed Bears head coach for 2016

The Sydney Bears have announced that Ron Kuprowsky has been promoted to the head coach position for the upcoming 2016 season after Vladimir Rubes stepped down in October due to family commitments. Kuprowsky joined the Bears last season as an assistant coach under Vladimir Rubes and was formally the head coach of the Sydney Ice Dogs from 2010 to April 2014.

For more information on the appointment see the announcement by the Bears.

Kuprowsky also recently helped train the Army Knights, a team in the Australian Defence Force Ice Hockey Association. For more information see the article by Bernard McNamara at