Sydney Bears retain Wilson Cup

The Sydney Bears have retained the Wilson Cup following their 5-3 defeat of the Sydney Ice Dogs on 4 August. The Wilson Cup is usually awarded to the winner of a pre-season tournament held between the three New South Wales based AIHL clubs. This year however the normal pre-season tournament was cancelled due to the number of players competing overseas and the relocation of the Bears and Ice Dogs to the Macquarie Ice Rink. As a result the Wilson Cup was re-purposed to be awarded to the winner of the four game regular season series between the Bears and Ice Dogs, leaving out the Northstars.

The series finished with two wins for each team and both with an equal goal difference of zero. The Wilson Cup was therefor retained by the Bears, having won the 2016 cup.

– Sydney Ice Dogs 1-0 Sydney Bears (22 April 2017)
– Sydney Bears 0-3 Sydney Ice Dogs (10 June 2017)
– Sydney Ice Dogs 2-4 Sydney Bears (15 July 2017)
– Sydney Bears 5-3 Sydney Ice Dogs (4 August 2017)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s