Month: October 2017

AIHL news: 17 October 2017

Newcastle Northstars
Andrew Petrie has stepped down from the position of head coach after three seasons at the club. Timing constraints and tenure length were cited as the reason for the departure. Petrie joined the Northstars in 2015 and coached the club to two Goodall Cup wins in the 2015 and 2016 seasons. A replacement for the position has yet to be decided. For more information see the announcement from the club.

AJIHL news: 15 October 2017

Some further details on the 2017-18 season have been announced. All six teams from last season will return after the Sydney Sabres and Sydney Wolf Pack were confirmed. The competition will remain split into two conferences, Brisbane/Sydney and Adelaide/Melbourne/Perth. Each team will compete in a home and away round against the teams within their conference. Each round is expected to consist of three games. Still to be confirmed are the dates of Glaciers and Generals round in Melbourne, the venue for the Sydney rounds and which Sydney team the Blitz will face in each round. The finals weekend will see a final round of the regular season with teams competing in three games against the teams from the opposing conference. Assuming the same format as last season the top four will then proceed to the playoffs.

– Adelaide Generals v Melbourne Glaciers. 21-22 October, Adelaide Ice Arena
– Perth Sharks v Melbourne Glaciers. 9-10 December, Cockburn Ice Arena
– A Sydney team v Brisbane Blitz. 9-10 December, venue not confirmed
– A Sydney team v Brisbane Blitz. 16-17 December, venue not confirmed
– Perth Sharks v Adelaide Generals. 10-11 February, Cockburn Ice Arena and Xtreme Ice Arena
– Melbourne Glaciers v Perth Sharks. 18-19 February, O’Brien Group Arena
– Brisbane Blitz v A Sydney team. 24-25 February, Iceworld Boondall
– Adelaide Generals v Perth Sharks. 3-4 March, Adelaide Ice Arena
– Brisbane Blitz v A Sydney team. 10-11 March, Iceworld Boondall
– Finals: 15-18 March, O’Brien Group Arena

Canberra Pirates awards night

The Canberra Pirates held their awards night yesterday for both the 2016 and 2017 seasons.

Most Valuable Player
– 2016: Sarah Christensen
– 2017: Eiland Kenyon

Most Improved Player
– 2016: Karen Stuart-Williams
– 2017: Jodie Cochrane

Most Dedicated Player
– 2016: Jessie McNeill
– 2017: Karen Stuart-Williams

Players’ Player
– 2016: Sarah Christensen
– 2017: Hannah Butler

Pirates Club Award
– 2016: Donald MacDonald
– 2017: Jodie Cochrane

Pirates Spirit Award
– 2016: Megan Parnell
– 2017: Sarah Pilbeam

AJIHL news: 14 October 2017

Brisbane Blitz
– The Blitz have named Ben Spillane as their assistant coach and Marcelle Tripp as manager and medic for the upcoming 2017-18 season. Spillane and Tripp join Sebastien Gobeil on the team staff after Gobeil was named head coach last week.

Perth Sharks
– Ice Hockey WA have named their team staff for the upcoming 2017-18 AJIHL season. Dave Ruck has been named as head coach with Alastair Punler as his assistant. Gill McLean has been named team manager.
– The team will hold one tryout session before naming their roster. This will be held on 13 November at the Perth Ice Arena.
– Cockburn Ice Arena will serve as the venue for the first Perth tournament of the season. The tournament will run on 9 and 10 December with the Sharks competing against the Adelaide Generals.

Australian officials assigned to the 2018 IIHF World Championships

Three Australian’s have been assigned to officiate in the 2018 IIHF World Championship program.

Fraser Ohlson: Linesman at the 2018 IIHF U18 World Championship Division III Group B (26-28 April, Queenstown, New Zealand)
Ainslie Gardner: Referee at the 2018 IIHF U18 Women’s World Championship Division I Group B Qualification (30 January – 4 February, Mexico City, Mexico)
Beth Bowshall: Linesman at the 2018 IIHF U18 Women’s World Championship Division I Group B Qualification (30 January – 4 February, Mexico City, Mexico)

Australian U18 extended roster released for 2018 World Championships

Ice Hockey Australia ave released the extended roster for the Australian men’s national under-18 team for the upcoming 2018 IIHF Ice Hockey U18 World Championship Division II Group A tournament. The competition will take place from 1 April to 7 April in Tallinn, Estonia with Australia competing against Estonia, Great Britain, Lithuania, Poland and South Korea. A final team roster that will travel to Estonia will be announced in December.

James Barton
Declan Bronte (Ontario Hockey Academy U17)
Andrew Chen (A21 Academy)
Kale Costa (HC Slovan Usti nad Labem U16)
Jakob Doornbos
James Downie (Meijer AAA Hockey 18U)
Jeremy Friederich
Zachery Gumm
Joey Gunner
Ben Handberg
Calvin Kwan
Connor Lee (Iowa Wild AAA U16)
Yannic Lodge (Richmond Generals)
– Liam McAuley
Max Miller
Thomas Moncrieff
– Anthony Njirich
– Kalin Njirich
Christian Pansino
Damon Parolin
Jack Ransome
Jake Riley (A21 Academy)
Connor Schultz
Gabriel Veyt (A21 Academy)
Arthur Wang (Richmond Hill Coyotes Mn Mgt AAA)

– Head Coach: Steve Laforet

AJIHL news: 12 October 2017

The details of the first three games of the 2017-18 Australian Junior Ice Hockey League season have been released. The games will be held on 21 and 22 October at the Adelaide Ice Arena between the Adelaide Generals and Melbourne Glaciers.

– Game 1: Melbourne Glaciers – Adelaide Generals (16:00, 21 October 2017)
– Game 2: Melbourne Glaciers – Adelaide Generals (09:00, 22 October 2017)
– Game 3: Melbourne Glaciers – Adelaide Generals (15:00, 22 October 2017)

AIHL news: 11 October 2017

Melbourne Ice
– Goaltender Dayne Davis will not return to the club for the 2018 season due to business and family commitments. Davis joined the Ice for the 2017 season after two seasons with the North Stars. He finished the regular season with a save percentage of 0.907 from 22 games and the playoffs with a save percentage of 0.940 from two games.

AJIHL news: 8 October 2017

The start of the 2017-18 season is getting closer however the AJIHL have yet to announce the full season schedule and the participating teams. Here is what we know so far:

– The Adelaide Generals have held a training camps on 22 September, 29 September and 5 October.
– The Brisbane Blitz will be holding training camps on 25 October and 1 November.
– The Melbourne Glaciers are expected to return for the 2017-18 season.
– The Perth Sharks will again represent Western Australia in the league. Ice Hockey WA have also mentioned they may reform the Perth Pelicans as an exhibition team which will play games against the Sharks between AJIHL tournaments.
– Currently no confirmation on the Sydney teams however Brisbane have two Sydney tournaments scheduled for December.

– Adelaide tournament: 21-22 October. Venue: Adelaide Ice Arena. Known participants: Adelaide Generals, Melbourne Glaciers
– Perth tournament: 9-10 December. Venue: Unknown. Known participants: Adelaide Generals, Perth Sharks
– Sydney tournament #1: 9-10 December. Venue: Unknown. Known participants: Brisbane Blitz
– Sydney tournament #2: 16-17 December. Venue: Unknown. Known participants: Brisbane Blitz
– Brisbane tournament #1: 24-25 February. Venue: Iceworld Boondall. Known participants: Brisbane Blitz
– Brisbane tournament #2: 10-11 March. Venue: Iceworld Boondall. Known participants: Brisbane Blitz
– Finals: 15-18 March. Venue: O’Brien Group Arena

In other news Sebastian Gobeil has been announced as the head coach for the Brisbane Blitz for the upcoming season. Gobeil was the teams assistant coach last season and replaces Darryl Dunsford in the head coach role. The Blitz are expected to announce the rest of the management team in the coming weeks.