2018 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship Division II Group A

Australian Women’s roster released for 2018 World Championships

Ice Hockey Australia have released the roster for the Australian women’s national team for the upcoming 2018 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship Division II Group A tournament. The competition will take place from 31 March to 6 April in Maribor, Slovenia with Australia competing against Great Britain, Mexico, the Netherlands, North Korea and Slovenia.

Australia finished last at the 2017 Division II Group A tournament and was initially set for relegation however a change to the Championship tournament halted all relegation for 2017 and 2018. The IIHF announced at the 2017 annual congress that they would expand the Championship tournament from eight to ten teams. To accommodate this change relegation was halted until 2019 across all levels of the World Championships.

Ashleigh Brown (Brisbane Goannas)
Michelle Coonan (Lindenwood-Belleville)

Kelly Costa (Brisbane Goannas)
Remi Harvey (Sydney Sirens)
– Sash-Marie Irvine
Amelia Matheson (Sydney Sirens)
Hollie McFadden (Sydney Sirens)
Rylie Padjen (Melbourne Ice)
Veronica Watson (Brisbane Goannas)

Natalie Ayris (Adelaide Rush)
– Michelle Clark
Stephenie Cochrane (Sydney Sirens)
Sharnita Crompton (Sydney Sirens)
Sharna Godfrey (Sydney Sirens)
– Rebecca Horrocks
Nicole Jones (Melbourne Ice)
Lucy Parrington
Sara Sammons
Shiarna Tarasenko (Sydney Sirens)
Kate Tihema (Lindenwood-Belleville)
Kristelle Vanderwolf (Sydney Sirens)

– Adrianna Cann
Jeff Helbren
– Alicia Kelly
Stuart Philps
Jaden Pine-Murphy
Don Reddish

2018 World Championship program announced

The locations and dates for the 2018 World Championship program have been announced with Ice Hockey Australia again entering a team in each category. A change to the Women’s World Championships which increased the number of teams in the top division has resulted in no relegation for 2018. As a result Australia will remain in the Division II Group A tournament.

Men’s (Division II Group A): Tilburg, Netherlands, 23-29 April 2018.
– Opponents: Netherlands, Serbia, Belgium, Iceland and China.
Men’s U20 (Division III): Sofia, Bulgaria, 22-28 January 2018.
– Opponents: China, Iceland, New Zealand, Israel and Bulgaria.
Men’s U18 (Division II Group A): Tallinn, Estonia, 1-7 April 2018.
– Opponents: Poland, Estonia, Lithuania, Korea and Great Britain.
Women’s (Division II Group A): Bled, Slovenia, 7-13 April 2018.
– Opponents: Netherlands, Great Britain, North Korea, Slovenia and Mexico.
Women’s U18 (Division I Group B): Krynica, Poland, 6-12 January 2018.
– Opponents: France, Denmark, Poland, Great Britain and China.