Adelaide Rush

2018-19 AWIHL season: Round 3

Round 3 of the 2018-19 Australian Women’s Ice Hockey League season has finished with the Perth Inferno defeating the Adelaide Rush in both games of their double header. The Melbourne Ice remain at the top of the standings, six points cleared of the second placed Inferno. Competition resumes on 24 November with the Rush hosting the Brisbane Goannas and the Sydney Sirens travelling to Perth to take on the Inferno.

Further information:
League website
YouTube live stream account

– Perth Inferno 11–4 Adelaide Rush (16:00, 10 November 2018, Adelaide Ice Arena). Live stream
– Perth Inferno 6–0 Adelaide Rush (09:30, 11 November 2018, Adelaide Ice Arena). Live stream


Melbourne Ice 4 4 0 0 0 12
Perth Inferno 2 2 0 0 0 6
Sydney Sirens 2 0 0 0 2 0
Adelaide Rush 2 0 0 0 2 0
Brisbane Goannas 2 0 0 0 2 0

Last updated 11 November 2018

Adelaide Rush 2018-19 roster

The Adelaide Rush have announced their roster for the upcoming 2018-19 AWIHL season. Into the team are Jamie Lunn, Cherie Reid, Kelly Harris, Kaitlyn Malthaner, Meggie Ayris, Josephine Otto, Gail Painter, Jayde Hodge and Courtney Semmler. While players dropped from the roster include Keesha Atkins (to Perth Inferno), Sarah Christiansen, Tonii Larpent (to Perth Inferno), Marina Nottle (to Perth Inferno), Hannah Wright, Ashley Pelkey and Madeleine Prescott

#2 Jamie Lunn
#6 Tiffany Venning
#7 Cherie Reid
#8 Kelly Harris
#9 Kaitlyn Malthaner
#10 Meggie Ayris
#11 Josephine Otto
#12 Natalie Ayris
#17 Shania Chenoweth
#18 Candice Mitchell
#19 Lily-Mae Edwards
#21 Gail Painter
#30 Joanne Phillis
#35 Jayde Hodge
#37 Sally Wilson
#44 Sarah Wise
#50 Courtney Semmler
#59 Kirsty Venus
#87 Tess Reynolds

Preliminary rosters announced for 2018 AIHL All-Star Weekend

The AIHL have announced the preliminary rosters for the upcoming 2018 AIHL All-Star Weekend. Included on Team Boyle is Greg Oddy who recently announced his retirement from the AIHL. The league is expected to announce further players in the lead up to the event. The All-Star Weekend will take place on 2 and 3 June at the Adelaide Ice Arena with a junior camp and skills competition on 2 June and the All-Star game on 3 June.

The league earlier announced that the Adelaide Rush of the Australian Women’s Ice Hockey League will also feature on the weekend where they will demonstrate each contest in the skills competition.

For more information see the announcement from the league

Team Rezek
Matt Armstrong (Melbourne Ice)
Sebastian Andersson (Adelaide Adrenaline)
Ben Breault (Perth Thunder)
Ellesse Carini (Sydney Ice Dogs)
Jack Carpenter (Melboure Ice)
Nathan Chiarlitti (Sydney Ice Dogs)
Glen Forbes-White (Adelaide Adrenaline)
Rob Haselhurst (Newcastle Northstars)
Aleš Krátoška (Adelaide Adrenaline)
Robert Malloy (Newcastle Northstars)
Thomas Powell (Melbourne Ice)
Josef Rezek (Adelaide Adrenaline)
Vadim Virjassov (Melbourne Mustangs)
Lliam Webster (Melbourne Ice)

Team Boyle
Alex Adams (Adelaide Adrenaline)
Charles Adams (Sydney Bears)
Caleb Apperson (Adelaide Adrenaline)
Zach Boyle (Adelaide Adrenaline)
Andrew Cox (Perth Thunder)
Peter Di Salvo (Perth Thunder)
Joe Harcharik (Newcastle Northstars)
Mitch Humphries (Melbourne Mustangs)
Anthony Kimlin (Sydney Bears)
Remy McGuiness (Adelaide Adrenaline)
Greg Oddy (Adelaide Adrenaline)
Nick Rivait (Newcastle Northstars)
Grant Toulmin (Sydney Ice Dogs)
Jamie Woodman (Perth Thunder)

2018 AWIHL playoffs

The Melbourne Ice have won the 2018 Joan McKowen Trophy after defeating the 4-2 Sydney Sirens in the grand final. The Ice advanced to the final after defeating the Brisbane Goannas 5-1 in the semifinals while the Sirens progressed with a 7-4 win over the Adelaide Rush. The win gives the Ice their sixth title and first since 2016.

Following the final the league also handed out the player awards. The Sydney Sirens’ Stephenie Cochrane was named the Skaters Network Player of the Year and Erin Beaver won best defenceman. Best goaltender was awarded to Keesha Atkins of the Adelaide Rush and the Rush’s Ashley Pelkey was named best forward. The Melbourne Ice’s Marnie Pullin won the Nellie Gee Rookie of the Year and Jessica Pinkerton was the highest posts scorer.

Further information:
Live streaming details
League website

– Adelaide Rush 4-7 Sydney Sirens (15:00, 17 March 2018, O’Brien Group Arena)
– Brisbane Goannas 1-5 Melbourne Ice (17:30, 17 March 2018, O’Brien Group Arena)

Third place game
– Brisbane Goannas 2-1 Adelaide Rush (14:30, 18 March 2018, O’Brien Group Arena)

Grand final
– Melbourne Ice 4-2 Sydney Sirens (17:00, 18 March 2018, O’Brien Group Arena)

Last updated 18 March 2018

2017-18 AWIHL season: Round 9

Round 9 of the 2017-18 Australian Women’s Ice Hockey League season has finished with the Sydney Sirens and Adelaide Rush both picking up a win each in their double header. The Sirens are currently nine points clear of the Melbourne Ice on the standings. Their win this weekend gives the Sirens an unbeatable lead and they claim the their second regular season title in a row. Next week the Brisbane Goannas host the Melbourne Ice in the final round of the regular season.

Further information:
Live streaming details
League website

– Sydney Sirens 2-4 Adelaide Rush (16:30, 24 February 2018, Adelaide Ice Arena)
– Sydney Sirens 7-0 Adelaide Rush (10:00, 25 February 2018, Adelaide Ice Arena)


Sydney Sirens 12 10 0 0 2 30
Melbourne Ice 10 7 0 0 3 21
Adelaide Rush 12 2 1 1 8 9
Brisbane Goannas 10 1 1 1 7 6

Last updated 25 February 2018