Jason Baclig

Australian men’s roster for 2020 World Championships

Ice Hockey Australia have released the Australian men’s team roster for the upcoming 2020 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship Division II Group A tournament. The competition will take place from 19 to 25 April in Zagreb, Croatia with Australia competing against China, Croatia, Israel, the Netherlands and Spain.

Changes to the team from the 2019 World Championships include the additions of Kale Costa, Hayden Dawes, Casey Kubara and Lynden Lodge. Both Kai Miettinen and Lliam Webster return to the team after being named in 2019 but didn’t end up playing. While players dropped include Jason Baclig, Jack Carpenter, Tyerell Clare, Tyler Kubara, Mathew Lindsay and Chris Wong.

Matti Luoma replaces Brad Vigon as head coach having held the position of assistant in 2019 and Michael Flaherty comes in as the new assistant coach.

Further information:
Tournament page on IIHF.com

Matt Armstrong (Melbourne Ice)
Zachary Boyle (Adelaide Adrenaline)
Kale Costa (HC Dynamo Pardubice U20)
Wehebe Darge (CBR Brave)
Hayden Dawes (Lindenwood University)
Brian Funes (HC Lidköping)
Robert Haselhurst (Perth Thunder)
Anthony Kimlin (Sydney Bears)
Casey Kubara (Nazareth College)
Lynden Lodge (Perth Thunder)
Robert Malloy (Newcastle Northstars)
Michael McMahon (Melbourne Mustangs)
Kai Miettinen (CBR Brave)
Thomas Powell (Melbourne Ice)
Josef Rezek (Adelaide Adrenaline)
Charlie Smart (Newcastle Northstars)
Beau Taylor
Cameron Todd (University of Jamestown)
Vadim Virjassov (Melbourne Mustangs)
Kieren Webster (Perth Thunder)
Lliam Webster (Melbourne Ice)
Jamie Woodman (Perth Thunder)

– Head coach: Matti Luoma
– Assistant coach: Michael Flaherty
– Team leader: Steve Ransome
– Team manager: Ian Webster

Ice Announce Captains for 2014

The Melbourne Ice have announced their captain and alternate captains for the upcoming 2014 AIHL season. Lliam Webster was named the teams captain taking over the role from Jason Baclig. Webster previously held the captaincy in 2010 and served as one of the alternate captains last season. Ross Howell who returns to play for the Ice for the first time since 2004 and Thomas Powell have been named as the teams two alternate captains. Howell has previous leadership experience during his time with the Gold Coast Blue Tongues where he was captain for the 2011 AIHL season. Powell continues in his role as one of the teams alternate captains having held in the position last season.