Melbourne Ice

2019 AIHL season: Round 1

Round 1 of the 2019 Australian Ice Hockey League season has finished with wins for the Sydney Bears, Melbourne Mustangs, Melbourne Ice and CBR Brave. The Mustangs sit at the top of standings, edging out the second placed Brave on goal difference. Next week all eight teams are in action across seven games.

For more information see the AIHL website.

Results (all times local)
– Sydney Bears 8-3 Sydney Ice Dogs (16:45, 20 April 2019, Macquarie Ice Rink)
– Adelaide Adrenaline 2-6 Melbourne Mustangs (17:00, 20 April 2019, O’Brien Icehouse)
– Adelaide Adrenaline 5-6 Melbourne Ice (16:00, 21 April 2019, O’Brien Icehouse)
– CBR Brave 4-1 Sydney Bears (17:00, 21 April 2019, Macquarie Ice Rink)


Melbourne Mustangs 1 1 0 0 0 3
CBR Brave 1 1 0 0 0 3
Melbourne Ice 1 1 0 0 0 3
Sydney Bears 2 1 0 0 1 3
Sydney Ice Dogs 1 0 0 0 1 0
Adelaide Adrenaline 2 0 0 0 2 0
Newcastle Northstars 0 0 0 0 0 0
Perth Thunder 0 0 0 0 0 0

Last updated 21 April 2019

Mustangs defeat Ice in exhibition match

The Melbourne Mustangs have defeated the Melbourne Ice 4-2 in an exhibition match at the O’Brien Icehouse. The win for the Mustangs breaks the Ice’s three year winning steak of their annual exhibition game.

– Melbourne Mustangs 4-2 Melbourne Ice (13 April 2019, O’Brien Icehouse)

Ice sign Lundgren

The Melbourne Ice have announced the signing of Swedish defenceman Jacob Lundgren for the 2019 season. Lundgren has spent the 2018-19 season playing for Halmstad Hammers HC J20 in the J20 Elit and Halmstad Hammers HC J18 in the J18 Division 1. In the J20 Elit Lundgren has currently recorded three points from 26 games. In the J18 Division 1 he picked up one point from seven games. For more information see the announcement from the club.

Ice sign Schwartz

The Melbourne Ice have announced the signing of Canadian forward Jesse Schwartz for the 2019 season. Schwartz has spent the majority of his 2018-19 season playing for the Roanoke Rail Yard Dawgs of the Southern Professional Hockey League where he currently has 19 points from 31 games. He also had a brief two game stint on loan to the Brampton Beast of the ECHL during the season. For more information see the announcement from the club.

Melbourne Ice 2019 roster

The Melbourne Ice have release their roster for the 2019 season. The club is yet to announce their four imports but based on the information available so far we can list the ins and outs.

New players to the team include Jonathon Bremner (Perth Thunder), Darcy Flanagan (CBR Brave), Jermaine Joyce (Melbourne Mustangs), Paul Lazzarotto (Melbourne Mustangs), Austin McKenzie and Thomas Munro (Perth Thunder).

While dropped from the roster are Dylan Anderson (Manchester Storm), Mitchell Bonollo (Niagara Whalers), Michael Breedveld, Scott Corbett (retired), Cass Delsar (retired), Nate Fleming, Jacob Haley (Melbourne Glaciers), Michael James, Devon Krogh, Dillon Lawrence (Coventry Blaze), Jesse Moore, Joseph Nyamuka, Jaden Pine-Murphy (Melbourne Mustangs), Maxim Shneider, Josh Velez and Marcus Wong (year off from hockey).

Matt Armstrong
Jason Baclig
Jonathon Bremner
Declan Bronte
Nathan Cachia
Jack Carpenter
Mac Caruana
Jeremy Chai
Rob Clark
James Downie
Darcy Flanagan
Todd Graham
Sam Hodic
Jermaine Joyce
Paul Lazzarotto
Austin McKenzie
Thomas Munro
Christian Pansino
Tommy Powell
Lliam Webster
Chris Wong

Hockey X 2019

The Melbourne Mustangs have won Hockey X 2019’s Warrior Cup, defeating the Melbourne Ice 3-1. Hockey X 2019 was an invitational tournament hosted by the Melbourne Ice at the O’Brien Icehouse. The tournament was first held in 2018 under the name of Hockey Festival: Melbourne and features eight short form games over two days. The CBR Brave, Melbourne Ice and Melbourne Mustangs all returned for the second year in a row. The Queensland All-Stars make their first appearance at the tournament while the Adelaide Adrenaline didn’t receive an invite after appearing in 2018.

Brendan McDowell of the Melbourne Mustangs was named best player of the tournament and Logan Gallacher, also from the Mustangs, was named best junior player.

Further information:
Hockey X website

– Melbourne Ice 2-4 Melbourne Mustangs (13:15, 30 March 2019)
– Queensland All-Stars 1-2 Melbourne Ice (14:15, 30 March 2019)
– Queensland All-Stars 2-3 SO CBR Brave (15:15, 30 March 2019)
– Melbourne Mustangs 4-1 CBR Brave (18:00, 30 March)
– Melbourne Mustangs 8-0 Queensland All-Stars (19:00, 30 March 2019)
– Melbourne Ice 6-0 CBR Brave (20:00, 30 March 2019)

– Third place game: CBR Brave 3-0 Queensland All-Stars (13:00, 31 March 2019)
– Grand final: Melbourne Mustangs 3-1 Melbourne Ice (14:30, 31 March 2019)

Round-robin standings

Melbourne Mustangs 3 3 0 0 9
Melbourne Ice 3 2 0 1 6
CBR Brave 3 0 1 2 2
Queensland All-Stars 3 0 1 2 1

Last updated 31 March 2019

Bremner to join Ice

The Perth Thunder have announced that forward Jonathon Bremner has left the club and will join the Melbourne Ice for the 2019 AIHL season. The move is the result of a job offer in Melbourne. Bremner played in 168 games for the Perth Thunder from 2012 to 2018, recording a total of 83 points. For more information see the announcement from the Perth Thunder.

AIHL news: 14 January 2019

Melbourne Ice/Melbourne Mustangs
– The Ice have announced that goaltender Jaden Pine-Murphy has left the club to join the Melbourne Mustangs in order to push for their starting goaltender position. Pine-Murphy played 72 games for the Ice from 2013 to 2018, averaging a save percentage of 0.890. For more information see the announcement from the club.