Melbourne Ice

Hockey X 2019

The Melbourne Mustangs have won Hockey X 2019’s Warrior Cup, defeating the Melbourne Ice 3-1. Hockey X 2019 was an invitational tournament hosted by the Melbourne Ice at the O’Brien Icehouse. The tournament was first held in 2018 under the name of Hockey Festival: Melbourne and features eight short form games over two days. The CBR Brave, Melbourne Ice and Melbourne Mustangs all returned for the second year in a row. The Queensland All-Stars make their first appearance at the tournament while the Adelaide Adrenaline didn’t receive an invite after appearing in 2018.

Brendan McDowell of the Melbourne Mustangs was named best player of the tournament and Logan Gallacher, also from the Mustangs, was named best junior player.

Further information:
Hockey X website

– Melbourne Ice 2-4 Melbourne Mustangs (13:15, 30 March 2019)
– Queensland All-Stars 1-2 Melbourne Ice (14:15, 30 March 2019)
– Queensland All-Stars 2-3 SO CBR Brave (15:15, 30 March 2019)
– Melbourne Mustangs 4-1 CBR Brave (18:00, 30 March)
– Melbourne Mustangs 8-0 Queensland All-Stars (19:00, 30 March 2019)
– Melbourne Ice 6-0 CBR Brave (20:00, 30 March 2019)

– Third place game: CBR Brave 3-0 Queensland All-Stars (13:00, 31 March 2019)
– Grand final: Melbourne Mustangs 3-1 Melbourne Ice (14:30, 31 March 2019)

Round-robin standings

Melbourne Mustangs 3 3 0 0 9
Melbourne Ice 3 2 0 1 6
CBR Brave 3 0 1 2 2
Queensland All-Stars 3 0 1 2 1

Last updated 31 March 2019

Bremner to join Ice

The Perth Thunder have announced that forward Jonathon Bremner has left the club and will join the Melbourne Ice for the 2019 AIHL season. The move is the result of a job offer in Melbourne. Bremner played in 168 games for the Perth Thunder from 2012 to 2018, recording a total of 83 points. For more information see the announcement from the Perth Thunder.

AIHL news: 14 January 2019

Melbourne Ice/Melbourne Mustangs
– The Ice have announced that goaltender Jaden Pine-Murphy has left the club to join the Melbourne Mustangs in order to push for their starting goaltender position. Pine-Murphy played 72 games for the Ice from 2013 to 2018, averaging a save percentage of 0.890. For more information see the announcement from the club.

AIHL news: 24 December 2018

Melbourne Ice
– The Ice have announced the signing of Sandy Gardner, Brent Laver and Glen Mayer as assistant coaches for the upcoming 2019 season. Gardner moves into the role having acted as interim head coach for the second half of the 2018 season, while Laver takes on the position having been development coach for the past two seasons. Mayer returns to the club, having previously been an assistant coach from 2014 to 2016.
– The Ice’s second annual pre-season Hockey Festival, Hockey X, will be held on 29-31 March 2019 and will feature four AIHL clubs, a Queensland All-Star team and the New Zealand men’s national team.

AIHL news: 5 December 2018

Melbourne Ice
– The Ice have announced the signing of Brad Vigon to the position of head coach. Vigon replaces interim coach Sandy Gardner who had been in the role since June 2018 after the departure of Peter Ekroth. Vigon previously coached the Melbourne Mustangs from 2013 to 2015 and is the current head coach of the Australian men’s national team.

AIHL news: 23 November 2018

Melbourne Ice
Johan Steenberg will join the club in 2019 as Director of Operations. Steenberg previously served as the Ice’s goaltending coach from 2014 to 2017 before joining the CBR Brave in 2018 as Director of Player Development and Player Personnel. For more information see the statement released by the Steenberg on the Brave’s website.

AIHL news: 11 September 2017

Melbourne Ice
– A few days late reporting this but the Ice announced two of their player awards on 8 September. Declan Bronte won the 2018 best new talent award and Tommy Powell was named player of the year for the 2018 season.

Melbourne Mustangs
– The Mustangs held their annual Players v Sponsors match today at the O’Brien Group Arena with the Sponsors winning 14-11.