Lliam Webster

AIHL news: 11 April 2018

Adelaide Adrenaline
– The Adrenaline have announced the re-signing of Steve Best and the signing of Quenton Tombleson and Tyler Leeming for the 2018 season. Best will return for his sixth season with the club, having so far recorded 15 points in 78 games. Tombleson spent the 2017 season playing for the Adelaide Falcons in the South Australian Premier League where he recorded 15 points in 17 games. Leeming also spent his 2017 season playing in the Premier League where he recorded 62 points from 14 games for the Adelaide Red Wings. For more information see the announcement from the club

CBR Brave
The Brave have announced the signing of forward Hayden Dawes for the upcoming season. Dawes has spent the 2017-18 season playing for Lindenwood University in the American Collegiate Hockey Association system where he currently has 16 points from 24 games. For more information see the announcement from the club.

Melbourne Ice
Tempur Australia and the Ice have reached an agreement which will see Tempur be the clubs naming rights sponsor for the next three seasons. Captain Lliam Webster has been appointed as the teams brand ambassador. For more information see the announcement from the club

Newcastle Northstars
– The Northstars have signed a deal with Warners at the Bay to be their post-game venue for the 2018 season. For more information see the announcement from the club

Sydney Bears
– The Bears have signed Canadian defenceman Graeme Strukoff for the 2018 season. Strukoff has spent the 2017-18 season playing for HC 07 Detva in the Tipsport Liga and prior to that spent two seasons in the Southern Professional Hockey League. For more information see the announcement from the club

Details released for 2017 AIHL All-Star Weekend

The Australian Ice Hockey League have announced the details for the upcoming 2017 AIHL All-Star Weekend. The two day event is set to be held on 3 and 4 June at the O’Brien Group Arena with the skills competition on the 3rd followed by the all-stars game on the 4th. APA Group will return for the third year in a row as the presenting sponsor. The two teams for 2017 will be captained by Jamie Bourke of the Melbourne Mustangs and the Melbourne Ice’s Lliam Webster, replacing Michael Schlamp and Matt Armstrong from 2016.

For more information on the event see the announcement on TheAIHL.com.

AIHL news: 27 April 2016

Adelaide Adrenaline
– The Adrenaline have continued the slow role out of their 2016 roster with the re-sigings of goaltender Peter King, forwards Darren Corstens and Josef Rezek and defenceman David Huxley

Melbourne Ice
– The Ice have announced their team leadership for the 2016 season. Lliam Webster retains his captainancy along with Thomas Powell as alternate captain. While Mitchell Humpries takes on the second alternate captain role, replacing Greg Sturrock.

Australia Men Cruise Past Belgium

The Australian Men’s team have won their first game of the 2014 IIHF World Championship Division II Group A tournament, defeating Belgium 7-1. Lliam Webster was named best Australian player of the game. With the win Australia move off the bottom of the standings into third place and are currently trailing leaders Estonia by seven points. The team comes up against fifth placed Serbia in their final game tonight. In other games of the day Estonia destroyed Israel 16-3 and Iceland defeated Serbia 4-3 in a shootout.

  • Australia 7 – 1 Belgium (13:00, 14 April 2014, Ice Rink Pionir, Belgrade). Game Card

For more information see the IIHF website.

Australia Defeat Mustangs

The Australia national senior team have defeated the Melbourne Mustangs 9-3 in the first of their exhibition games being played at the Medibank Icehouse. At the end of the first period Australia led 1-0 with the only goal of the game coming from Lliam Webster. By the end of the second the Mustangs were on the board with two goals from Patrick O’Kane however Australia had increased their lead to 5-2. Australia then doubled their lead to finish the game 9-3 with the only Mustangs goal coming from Andrew Belic. Australia will now play the Melbourne Ice on 5 April before heading to Serbia to compete in the 2014 IIHF World Championship Division II Group A tournament.

For more information on the upcoming tournament see the IIHF website and for more information on yesterdays game see the article at AIHL.com.

Ice Announce Captains for 2014

The Melbourne Ice have announced their captain and alternate captains for the upcoming 2014 AIHL season. Lliam Webster was named the teams captain taking over the role from Jason Baclig. Webster previously held the captaincy in 2010 and served as one of the alternate captains last season. Ross Howell who returns to play for the Ice for the first time since 2004 and Thomas Powell have been named as the teams two alternate captains. Howell has previous leadership experience during his time with the Gold Coast Blue Tongues where he was captain for the 2011 AIHL season. Powell continues in his role as one of the teams alternate captains having held in the position last season.