Viktor Gibbs Sjödin

2014 AIHL Final

The Melbourne Mustangs have won the 2014 Goodall Cup final after defeating the Melbourne Ice 6-1 today at the Medibank Icehouse. The win earns the Mustangs their first Goodall Cup who also won the H Newman Reid Trophy this season after finishing first in the regular season.

  • Melbourne Ice 1 – 6 Melbourne Mustangs (15:00, 31 August 2014, Medibank Icehouse). Game Card

The 2014 individual awards were also announced today with the Mustangs and Sydney Ice Dogs winning two of the awards each and the Ice and CBR Brave taking home one apiece.

Melbourne Mustangs 2014 Roster Announced

The Melbourne Mustangs revealed their roster for the upcoming 2014 AIHL season. On the list are nine new inclusions while seven players have been dropped from the list. The three new import signings of Viktor Gibbs Sjödin, Jeff Grant and Martin Kutek replace the 2013 signings of Jon Olthuis, Kevin Glanzman and Vadim Virjassov. While 2013 imports Patrick O’Kane and Jack Wolgemuth return for their second season with the team. Also on the list are the two Hughes brothers, Joseph and Vincent, who left the Melbourne Ice midway through the 2013 season. Matthew Anderson and Troy Robertson return to the team after not playing in the 2013 season while other new signings include Ethan Cornford and Robert Summons.

Players cut from the team include Travis Alabaster, Todd Cutter, Robin Forsythe, Kevin Glanzman, Stuart Higgins, Jon Olthuis and Vadim Virjassov.

The 2014 Roster, for more information follow the links to the players profile on Elite Prospects: