James Byers

CBR Brave 2016 Player Awards

The Brave held their 2016 players awards on 17 August.

– Bravest of the Brave: Jan Safar and Mathieu Guertin
– Best Forward: Mathieu Guertin
– Best Defender: Jan Safar
– Emerging Brave: Casey Kubara
– Player’s Player: Kai Miettinen
– Highest Points Scorer: Mathieu Guertin
– John Lewis Memorial Award: Andrew & Judy Deans
– Fans Choice: James Byers

AIHL news: 23 August 2013

CBR Brave
The CBR Brave have announced their 2015 player awards today as follows:

The club has also announced the formation the CBR Brave Foundation. It has been established to help the team in raising funds for mental illness, depression and suicide prevention with a focus on young men. The Foundation will provide annual grants to charities in these areas and there are plans to launch an online auction next week to start the initiative.

Newcastle North Stars
Geordie Wudrick has broken the records for most points and most goals scored in a season, finishing with 91 points which included 44 goals and 47 assists. Wudrick’s 91 points beats previous record holder Adison DeBoer’s 85 points which was set in the 2011 season for the Canberra Knights. His 44 goals meanwhile beats the previous record of 42 set by the Gold Coast Blue Tongues’ Matt Amado in 2011.

Australian Men’s Final Roster Released

The IIHF have released the final team roster for the Australian men’s national team for the 2014 IIHF World Championship Division II Group A tournament being held in Belgrade, Serbia. Eight players will be making their debut for the team; James Byers, Fraser Carson, Adam Geric, Mitchell Humphries, Brendan McDowell, Shannon McGregor, Austin McKenzie and Greg Sturrock. Former Adelaide Adrenaline and Under-20 head coach Ryan O’Handley takes over as head coach from Vladimir Rubes who was head coach from 2011 to 2013.

For more information see the IIHF website.

Team staff: