Wehebe Darge

2018 AIHL playoffs

The 2018 AIHL playoffs have finished with the CBR Brave defeating the Sydney Bears 4-3 in overtime. The win gives the Brave their first Goodall Cup since joining the league in 2014. The Brave progressed to the final after defeating the Melbourne Mustangs 5-1 in the semifinals while the Bears defeated the Perth Thunder 3-0 in their semifinal. For the sixth year running the finals are sponsored by Air Canada.

The CBR Brave’s Trevor Gerling was named the playoffs most valuable player and Wehebe Darge was named the Skaters Network local player of the finals.

For more information see the TheAIHL.com and for the livestreams of the games see the league YouTube page.

– SF1: Melbourne Mustangs 1-5 CBR Brave (15:00, 1 September 2018, O’Brien Group Arena)
– SF2: Perth Thunder 0-3 Sydney Bears (18:00, 1 September 2018, O’Brien Group Arena)
– GF: Sydney Bears 3-4 OT CBR Brave (15:00, 2 September 2018, O’Brien Group Arena)

Last updated 2 September 2018

2018 AIHL awards: Part 2

The Australian Ice Hockey League have announced the winners of the final threee awards for the 2018 season. The Sydney Bears took out two categories with Anthony Kimlin named goaltender of the year and Ron Kuprowsky named coach of the year. The CBR Brave took out the remaining category with Wehebe Darge named Skaters Network local player of the year.

For details on how the voting process works see the release from the AIHL.

– Goaltender of the Year: Anthony Kimlin (Sydney Bears)
– Coach of the Year: Ron Kuprowsky (Sydney Bears)
– Skaters Network Local Player of the Year: Wehebe Darge (CBR Brave)

CBR Brave 2018 awards night

The Brave held their 2018 awards night on 20 August.

– Most Valuable Player: Trevor Gerling and Matt Hewitt
– Best Forward: Chris Leveille
– Best Defender: Channing Bresciani
– Leading Points: Trevor Gerling
– Emerging Brave: Mitchell Henning
– Players Player: Wehebe Darge
– Coaches Award: Kai Miettinen
– Fans Choice: Matt Hewitt
– John Lewis Memorial Award: Darryl Day
– Deans Award: Tristan Metcalfe

AIHL news: 20 July 2018

CBR Brave
– The Brave have announced the re-signing of Wehebe Darge for the 2019 season. The signing will see Darge enter his third season with the club since moving across from the Adelaide Adrenaline before the start of the 2017 season. Before joining the Brave Darge played seven seasons with the Adrenaline from 2009 to 2016. For more information see the announcement from the club.

CBR Brave 2018 team leaders

Matthew Harvey replaces Mark Rummukainen as team captain. Rummukainen had held the captaincy since 2014. Jordan Gavin returns as alternate captain. Wehebe Darge and Kai Miettinen take on the alternate captain role, replacing Jan Safar who did not return to the club after playing in 2016 and 2017.

– Captain: Matthew Harvey
– Alternate: Wehebe Darge
– Alternate: Jordan Gavin
– Alternate: Kai Miettinen

AIHL news: 25 April 2017

Adelaide Adrenaline
– The Adrenaline have announced that the radio station 1079 Life as signed on as the club’s official media partner for 2017. The deal will include a live broadcast of at least one Adrenaline game this season as well as regular interviews with players, staff and volunteers. For more information see the announcement from the club.

CBR Brave
– The Brave have announced the signing of forward Wehebe Darge for the 2017 season. It had originally been announced that Darge would re-join the Adelaide Adrenaline when he returns in June. Darge has spent his entire AIHL career up to this point playing for the Adrenaline, competing in a total of 154 games and recording 219 points. During the 2016-17 season Darge has been playing for the Peterborough Phantoms of the English Premier Ice Hockey League recording 46 points in 53 games. For more information see the announcement from the Brave or the announcement from the Adrenaline.

2017 World Championships: Australia defeat Spain

The Australian men’s national team won their third game of the 2017 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship Division II Group A tournament, defeating Spain 5-3. Forward Wehebe Darge was named best Australian player of the match after recording two assists and finishing with a plus-3 rating. In other games of the day the Serbia defeated Belgium 9-2 and Iceland beat Romania 2-0. At the end of the third round Australia have moved into first place, two points ahead of the second placed Iceland. Australia take on Romania today in their fourth game of the tournament.

For more information on the tournament see the page at IIHF.com.

  • Australia 5-3 Spain (16:30, 6 April 2017, Galati Arena). Game Card


Australia 3 2 1 0 0 8
Iceland 3 2 0 0 1 6
Romania 3 2 0 0 1 6
Serbia 3 1 0 1 1 4
Belgium 3 1 0 0 2 3
Spain 3 0 0 0 3 0

2016 AIHL Awards

The AIHL have announced the winners of the 2016 Awards which were voted on by team representatives and officials. For more information see the article on TheAIHL.com

– Kendall Trophy (Most Valuable Player): Wehebe Darge (Adelaide Adrenaline)
– Goaltender of the Year: Anthony Kimlin (Sydney Bears)
– Defenceman of the Year: Jan Safar (CBR Brave)
– Rookie of the Year: Casey Kubara (CBR Brave)
– Local Player of the Year: Casey Kubara (CBR Brave)
– Coach of the Year: Brent Laver (Melbourne Ice)
– Kennedy Trophy (Playoffs Most Valuable Player): Dayne Davis (Newcastle North Stars)

Adelaide Adrenaline 2016 Awards Night

The Adrenaline held their 2016 awards night on 2 September 2016 at The Hilton Hotel. This year also saw the club introduce the “President’s Award” which is given to the member of the Adrenaline community (player, committee member, volunteer, sponsor) who displays an exemplary attitude, work ethic, passion and community spirit.

– Most Valuable Player: Wehebe Darge
– Leading Point Scorer: Wehebe Darge
– Best Defensive Forward: Cole MacMillan
– Best Defenceman: Gabriel O’Connor
– Rising Star Award: Ted Fabijan
– Unsung Hero: Peter King
– Fan’s Choice Award: Ted Fabijan
– Volunteer of the Year: Steve McGuiness
– President’s Award: Mark Beckett

AIHL news: 4 May 2016

Adelaide Adrenaline
– Forward Wehebe Darge has re-signed with the club for the 2016 season. Darge will line up for his seventh season with the Adrenaline having recently returned from playing for IHC Leuven in the BeNeLiga where he recorded 55 points in 21 games.

Sydney Bears
Hi-Tec Oils will continue as a major sponsor of the Sydney Bears for the 2016 season. Hi-Tec Oils is an Australian manufacturer of lubricants for automotive, industrial agricultural, transport and heavy equipment applications.